Army Lists and Min Max

Modders can post their questions on scripting and more.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Aug 15, 2016 8:56 pm

the RandomMap_MapSize function gets called only to determine the map size, so calling AddBonus in there makes no difference. You would use SetGlobal to set a global variable to the map size, which you would then read in the _Build function where the map actually gets built.

The Log command is detailed in the autodocs (in Documents/My Games/BA2/AUTODOCS/BATTLESCRIPT.TXT), and you can see the output in the battle screen by pressing F6.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Brummbar44
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by Brummbar44 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 9:18 pm

Ahhh...ok, thanks Pip. I'll see if I can fiddle with it to make it work...otherwise, not a big deal.

Cheers!

Brummbar44
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by Brummbar44 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:07 pm

Hi Pip,

Me again. I was wondering if there is a way to indicate the Fortification number set in a Skirmish in the MP screen?

For example, when I set up a Challenge some of the information about setup is included in the Challenge itself (like Attack) and the rest of the info about it can be obtained by hovering over it (like Openness)...I would like to be able to also show, on hover, the Fortification setting...but have no idea where to begin with that.

Can you point me in the right direction?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:53 pm

I think the info in the lobby screen is hardcoded, sorry :(

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Brummbar44
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by Brummbar44 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:19 pm

Drat! Thanks Pip.

Any other way to indicate what the Fortification setting is to a player accepting the challenge that you can think of? ...perhaps through the Log somehow?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by pipfromslitherine » Fri Aug 19, 2016 2:53 pm

Unfortunately not really, the data just wouldn't get sent to the server. I guess we should have allowed script to write to the challenge name or user message.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Brummbar44
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by Brummbar44 » Fri Aug 19, 2016 3:41 pm

Oh well...Ok, thanks Pip.

Brummbar44
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by Brummbar44 » Sat Aug 20, 2016 3:35 pm

I found this in the Autodoc...

Code: Select all

//set the fortification value [0,100]
SkirmishSetFortifications(fortifications)
Could I use this in MP Skirmish to preset the Fortification value? If so, where would I need to put it (ie. do I put it into the MAPGENERATE2.BSF)? ...or is it only for Single player mode?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9255
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Aug 22, 2016 9:57 pm

I think that it is for starting skirmish battles from a campaign layer, so probably not useful for MP (if I am correct in thinking it is your plan).

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Brummbar44
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:53 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Army Lists and Min Max

Post by Brummbar44 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 10:04 pm

Ahhh...yes, I was hoping it might be an option for the MP version.

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy 2: Modders Corner”