I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Moderators: rbodleyscott, Slitherine Core, Gothic Labs

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:59 pm

Created a quick scenario called 'Test scenario' and it can be found in:

\My Games\PIKEANDSHOT\MULTIPLAYER\FOGMAN\SCENARIOS

but i can't find in the game when i go to 'historical'.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:23 pm

fogman wrote:Created a quick scenario called 'Test scenario' and it can be found in:

\My Games\PIKEANDSHOT\MULTIPLAYER\FOGMAN\SCENARIOS

but i can't find in the game when i go to 'historical'.
That is because it is multiplayer and the Historical button only shows SP campaign folders. You need to use the Multiplayer button. You also need to have a Campaign.txt file in your FOGMAN folder, containing the line

[nameofscenario]

(replace nameofscenario with whatever the name is)
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:39 pm

when i wrote
[Test scenario]
there's an error:
invalid chunk header on line 1 in...

when i wrote
Test scenario
there's no error but i can't find it when i click on new challenge

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Sat Nov 22, 2014 5:34 pm

fogman wrote:when i wrote
[Test scenario]
there's an error:
invalid chunk header on line 1 in...

when i wrote
Test scenario
there's no error but i can't find it when i click on new challenge
You can't have spaces in a chunk header.

You need to rename the scenario as TestScenario.BAM

and write

[TestScenario]
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:38 pm

how is elevation done on the map?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:18 am

fogman wrote:how is elevation done on the map?
With tile placement selected, CTRL-L click to raise a tile, CTRL R-click to lower it.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:22 am

1. where in the editor do you get to specify the % of losses to earn a win for either sides?

2. how do victory/objective points relate to 1. ?

3. i can only get a stream to go straight; the 'stream bend' only bends one way.

Adebar
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 341
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:39 pm
Location: HRR

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by Adebar » Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:24 am

fogman wrote:3. i can only get a stream to go straight; the 'stream bend' only bends one way.
Like the objects, you can turn all tiles by using the "R" button.
Image

IC XC
NI KA

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:24 am

fogman wrote:1. where in the editor do you get to specify the % of losses to earn a win for either sides?
You cannot do that in the editor, you have to do that in a scenario script. See SCENARIOTEMPLATE.BSF in the main game directory. Copy that to your campaign /scenarios directory and rename it to match your scenario name.

You can then control the % losses for victory by altering the parameters of StandardVictoryConditions(60, 40, 60, 40, 2, 0) in VictoryConditions().
2. how do victory/objective points relate to 1. ?
We have not made use of the Slitherine victory points plugin - so I am not familiar with how it works - you would need to refer to the BA2 boards for an explanation of that.

I cannot vouch for whether it will work correctly together with StandardVictoryConditions().

Some trial and error and script rewriting may be required.

Nordlingen.BSF is an example of how we implemented an objective (not using the Slitherine victory points plugin).
3. i can only get a stream to go straight; the 'stream bend' only bends one way.
You can rotate it using the R key.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:00 pm

are there ways to have units exiting (on purpose) the battlefield?

if not, how do you make an impassible tile (beside water)? or is there a way to have a water tile but which doesn't look like water?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:18 pm

fogman wrote:are there ways to have units exiting (on purpose) the battlefield?
Not as such. However, it was dealt with in the StQuentin and Lostwithiel scenarios by the scripts removing from play any unit reaching the target map edge. (See the scenario scripts for those scenarios).
if not, how do you make an impassible tile (beside water)? or is there a way to have a water tile but which doesn't look like water?
There is already a Cliff terrain type which is effectively impassable, but we have not assigned it to any tiles.

If you added the following to Tiles.TXT in each base tile set, you would have an Impassable Cliff tile with the slope appearance.

[Tile66]
TERRAIN_0_0 Cliff
TEXX_0_0 6
TEXY_0_0 4
TEXTURE_0_0 0
GROUP Impassable
AUTOROTATE NO
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:31 am

i tried to make a swiss unit not keil by giving it 55% heavy weapon and 45% pikes. it's still keil. what exactly are the rules on this?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Sun Nov 30, 2014 8:18 am

fogman wrote:i tried to make a swiss unit not keil by giving it 55% heavy weapon and 45% pikes. it's still keil. what exactly are the rules on this?
1) The unit must be at least 40% pikes.
2) The total number of pikes, heavy weapons and swordsmen in the unit must be a sufficient proportion of the unit that they are equivalent to more than UnitSize 500 as a proportion of the Squads file UnitSize attribute of the unit.
3) The total number of pikes, heavy weapons and swordsmen in the unit must be a sufficient proportion of the unit that they are currently (taking account of losses) equivalent to more than UnitSize 400.

Heavy Weapons count towards a keil, but not towards the 40% pikes. To make a unit like that "not a keil" it would need to be 39% pikes, 61% heavy weapon.

Here, for anyone who interested, is the code

Code: Select all

// Determines if unit has enough pikes, heavy weapon men and swordsmen left to qualify as a keil. Returns 0 if not keil, otherwise percent of men qualifying for keil POA
// No individual man should have more than one of these attribs.
FUNCTION PercentKeil(me)
{
	int percent;
	int original_block_size;
	int block_size;
	int ret;

	ret = 0;

	percent = GetAttrib(me, "Pike"); // Pikes

	if (percent >= 40)  // Unit at least 40% pikes
		{
			// Add heavy weapon men and swordsmen
			percent = percent + GetAttrib(me, "Heavy_Weapon") + GetAttrib(me,"Swordsmen");
			original_block_size = percent * GetBaseAttrib(me, "UnitSize"));
			original_block_size /= 100;
			if (original_block_size > 500) // Not >= because of 50:50 early Later Tercios
				{
					block_size = percent * GetAttrib(me, "UnitSize"));
					block_size *= GetAttrib(me, "TotalMen");
					block_size /= StartingStrength(me);
					block_size /= 100;

					if (block_size >= 400)
						{
							ret = percent;
						}
				}
		}

	return ret;
}
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:28 pm

If you added the following to Tiles.TXT in each base tile set, you would have an Impassable Cliff tile with the slope appearance.

[Tile66]
TERRAIN_0_0 Cliff
TEXX_0_0 6
TEXY_0_0 4
TEXTURE_0_0 0
GROUP Impassable
AUTOROTATE NO
where are those Tiles.TXT files? how many of them are there?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:32 pm

fogman wrote:
If you added the following to Tiles.TXT in each base tile set, you would have an Impassable Cliff tile with the slope appearance.

[Tile66]
TERRAIN_0_0 Cliff
TEXX_0_0 6
TEXY_0_0 4
TEXTURE_0_0 0
GROUP Impassable
AUTOROTATE NO
where are those Tiles.TXT files? how many of them are there?
They are in

/Data/Tiles/CentralEurope_Base
/Data/Tiles/NorthernEurope_Base
/Data/Tiles/SouthernEurope_Base

there is one in each.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sat Dec 06, 2014 1:42 pm

are we supposed to modify game files? or am i to make a copy of all three and put them elsewhere?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Sat Dec 06, 2014 2:41 pm

fogman wrote:are we supposed to modify game files? or am i to make a copy of all three and put them elsewhere?
You should not modify game files in the main installation. You should make a copy of them in your custom campaign.

You need to use the folder tree you will find near the end of the document linked below, as the relative location of the folders is not always the same as in the main installation.

http://www.slitherinebravo.net/GameWiki ... tub_engine

So, assuming your custom campaign was call FogmanCampaign they would be

Documents/My Games/PikeandShot/Campaigns/FogmanCampaign/Tiles/CentralEurope_Base/Tiles.txt
Documents/My Games/PikeandShot/Campaigns/FogmanCampaign/Tiles/NorthernEurope_Base/Tiles.txt
Documents/My Games/PikeandShot/Campaigns/FogmanCampaign/Tiles/SouthernEurope_Base/Tiles.txt
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:09 pm

there're some issues. would the 'deep water' overlay work as impassible also?

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 24109
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by rbodleyscott » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:33 pm

fogman wrote:there're some issues. would the 'deep water' overlay work as impassible also?
Yes, but it would make more sense to add an (invisible) Impassible overlay that changes the terrain type to Impassible without altering the appearance of the tile:

Add this to the Tiles.Txt in the Overlay folders:

[Tile69]
LAYER 2
TERRAIN_0_0 Impassible
TEXX_0_0 6
TEXY_0_0 2
TEXTURE_0_0 1
Group Impassible

Then add Impassible to the terrain types in a copy of Terrain.txt (from /Data) in your campaign folder. (Documents/My Games/PikeandShot/Campaigns/FogmanCampaign/Terrain.txt)

[Impassible]
DETERMINED_FOOT 100
HEAVY_FOOT 100
MIXED_FOOT 100
MEDIUM_FOOT 100
WARRIORS 100
LIGHT_FOOT 100
DRAGOONS 100
MOB 100
BATTLE_WAGONS 100
ARTILLERY 100
LIGHT_ARTILLERY 100
GENDARMES 100
CAVALIERS 100
HORSE 100
DETERMINED_HORSE 100
LIGHT_HORSE 100
CAVALRY 100
COMMANDED_SHOT 100
CAMELRY 100
ELEPHANTS 100
TRAIN 100
BOAT 100
SHIP 100
COVERFLAGS 0 // can infantry hide in this terrain
COVERVALUE0 100 // % damage inflicted if target is stationary
COVERVALUE1 100 // % damage inflicted if target is moving
COVERVALUE2 30 // % chance of getting bogged down when starting turn in this terrain * % chance of bogging so this /6 /10 is about the right amount.
COVERVALUE3 0 // is this a fortification? 1 = light, 2 = medium, 3 = heavy
COVERVALUE4 3 // 0 = open, 1 = not open but otherwise clear, 2 = Rough, 3 = Difficult
COVERVALUE5 0 // 0 = non-road, 1 = road
COVERVALUE6 0 // 0 = non-built-up area, 1 = built-up area
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

fogman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:29 pm

Re: I need to understand these things to make a scenario...

Post by fogman » Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:31 pm

if the overlay was invisible, how would players know except mousing over the tile? I use impassible terrain as an overlay to create lanes to compartmentalize fighting. right now, the small issue is that the cliff graphic for impassible look exactly like the graphic for elevation.

Post Reply

Return to “Scenario Design”