Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal App

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators, WH40K Armageddon moderators

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7980
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by VPaulus » Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:50 am

All of you have Collectors Edition, right?

littlebot
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:57 am

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by littlebot » Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:26 am

For me,
yes (Win 8.1 64 bit, Collectors Edition)

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7980
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by VPaulus » Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:29 am

@pmerczel
You seem to have the original game and not the Collectors Edition. Have you tried it with the original release 1.0 installed?

The game doesn't store, as far as I know, any of the settings (Options) in the Windows registry.

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7980
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by VPaulus » Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:35 am

@littlebot and @DerLandser

I have pmed both of you. Could you please check it?

pmerczel
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:38 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by pmerczel » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:57 am

OK, first, I have a Win 8.1 Pro 64bit.

I uninstalled the game via Control Panel...
Rebooted
Deleted the remaining files and folder "Slitherine" from Program files (x86)
Deleted the My Games Folder in Documents.
Rebooted
Installed original (Dec. download) of Armageddon.
Rebooted
Started app and was able to access Options. went in several times, different ways (in game, from launch panel, etc), even exited out of the app and rebooted several times. Made multiple changes with no issues.
Works fine.

Installed patch 1.03 (manually from exe)
Again tested with no issues (except for some link labels (ie: IDS_Quit, IDS_Options, etc)
Options panel still worked fine.

Again, rebooted and installed Patch 1.06 (again, manually from exe)
At this point The Options panel wouldn't load and I'd get the exception.
Note: previous settings are still working, so this at-least was retained.

Hope this helps
Peter

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7980
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by VPaulus » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:35 pm

Thanks Peter.
I'm sure it will help. :)

DerLandser
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:14 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by DerLandser » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:00 pm

@VPaulus, I responded to your PM and I am showing 1 message in my Outbox, but no messages in my Sent Messages box. I'm not sure if my PM was sent and I would like to confirm that you have received my PM.

pmerczel
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:38 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by pmerczel » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:50 pm

Glad to be of help.
I don't have .04 or .05 patch to test, but if you'd like, please let me know where to download and I'd be glad to test.

Have fun,
Peter

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7980
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by VPaulus » Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:27 pm

DerLandser wrote:@VPaulus, I responded to your PM and I am showing 1 message in my Outbox, but no messages in my Sent Messages box. I'm not sure if my PM was sent and I would like to confirm that you have received my PM.
I'm sorry, but I only have responded now to your pm.

ShiftZ
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:36 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by ShiftZ » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:19 am

Path 1.08 is coming out this week. Hope it will resolve all the issues.

pmerczel
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:38 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by pmerczel » Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:23 am

Sorry to say, no dice with 1.08 on my machine.

downloaded file.
Rebooted
extracted exe and manually run/Installed
rebooted
Tested "Options" from home page and failed.
Access violation error, then the unhandled exception error.

ExpCode: 0x80000003 ExpFlags: 0
ExpAddress 0x016E676F

Good Luck.

pmerczel
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:38 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by pmerczel » Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:30 am

FYI, it seems I'm also getting a Access violation error/Exception if I've selected the option "unmoved units warning". I'd select this before updating from 1.03, again after the update (1,04 or later), options still fail.

I'd start getting crashes around the 4th tutorial.

Thanks

PlatedSorok
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by PlatedSorok » Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:13 am

Hi, I just got the Collector's Edition and am unable to even run it. I installed 1.08 and the hotfix but now it gives me the error that it can't access a font:

VER:1
PLATFORM: WINDOWS
CPU String: GenuineIntel
Stepping ID = 9
Model = 10
Family = 6
Extended model = 3
CLFLUSH cache line size = 64
APIC Physical ID = 3
CPU Brand String: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3337U CPU @ 1.80GHz
Cache Size = 256K
Found DirectX Version Number: 4.09.00.0904
Creating Device.....
MonkeyInitStart
MonkeyInitStart Is Windowed
MIS: Found DD
MIS: IsHW
MIS: SetCoop
MIS: Done Init 3D Device
MIS: Tex Enum
MIS: SDRS
MIS: Init Decal Render
ERROR
file.h:107 (CFile::Open)
Could not open file 'UI/fonts\caslon-antique_en.ttf': Permission denied
(0) : Failed
ERROR

ERROR
Struct exception with code 0x80000003
(0) : Failed
ERROR

######## EXCEPTION: 0x80000003 at address: 0x0060650F
C:\Program Files (x86)\Slitherine\Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon;C:\Program Files (x86)\Slitherine\Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon;C:\Windows
Gui::TextEdit::Text::StaticFactoryReg

PlatedSorok
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by PlatedSorok » Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:35 pm

Tried running as administrator, resetting permissions, checking system for errors, making fresh installs, nothing worked. This is irritating, I had no problem running the standard version but the CE can't even run.

Anyone has a solution? Or at least an idea? I can't run the game because of a single font!

Update:

I seem to have found a solution. I used an online font converter to convert every caslon-antique font to .ttf format and replaced them even though they already were on that format and now the game runs, hopefully that's the end of it. But I still want to know why the Collectors Edition is giving so many problems?

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7980
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by VPaulus » Sun Jul 05, 2015 2:42 pm

Thanks for the input.
The developers are still investigating this issue.

ShiftZ
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:36 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by ShiftZ » Tue Jul 07, 2015 7:58 pm

Ok, it turned out that a font file in UI/fonts is 'magicaly' locked after installation of the Collector Edition. The issue is addressed to installation team, and will be fixed in 1.09 patch.
Meanwhile you can try to fix it manually:
- copy the content of UI/fonts to backup folder
- delete all files from UI/fonts
- if you can not delete a file bacause file is locked, try to use Unlocker http://filehippo.com/download_unlocker/
It may not detect the lock handler, but it will allow you to delete the file no matter what.
- copy the content of backup folder back to UI/fonts
- report if it helped

PlatedSorok
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by PlatedSorok » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:27 pm

Thank you for the reply, I have been using unlocker and replacing the fonts to deal with that as you suggested. However, the problem continues to appear from time to time, necessitating the caslon-antique fonts to be replaced each time (I haven't had any problem with the others).

Andreas81
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 1:40 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by Andreas81 » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:30 pm

Hi ShiftZ,

i have posted a few times here but did not get a response. Could you please take a look at the tech support thread i started in which i described the crash problem i'm having. All i want to know is if this is the same font-problem or another issue. Thanks.

Rudankort
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 2931
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by Rudankort » Tue Jul 07, 2015 9:57 pm

PlatedSorok wrote:Thank you for the reply, I have been using unlocker and replacing the fonts to deal with that as you suggested. However, the problem continues to appear from time to time, necessitating the caslon-antique fonts to be replaced each time (I haven't had any problem with the others).
Can you spot any pattern in this reoccurence of the problem? Does it resume after reset for example? Also: if you run the game via launcher, will the issue resurface if you run it directly (ArmageddonGame.exe)?

PlatedSorok
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:31 pm

Re: Warhammer 40,000 Armageddon: ArmageddonGame.exe - Fatal

Post by PlatedSorok » Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:03 am

Only pattern I've noticed is that this happens every few days. I launch the game from ArmageddonGame.exe but what is weird is I rename the old ones to caslon-antique old and when I try to delete them, I still get the permission problem so I have to run the game once with the new copy of the fonts and the old ones in place before I can delete the old ones.

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”