Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Tech support for Commander Europe at War. Requires forum registration.

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
Edward75
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:50 pm

Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Edward75 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:37 am

Installed game on Windows 10 (64-bit), my screen resolution 1600x900. After runing game, I see screen squared and zoom does not increase. On screen, this is maximum Zoom.
What is problem and how to fix it?
I used to play on XP, Win 8 before - never had such problems.
Image

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15958
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by zakblood » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:07 am

windows 10 has a built in scaling feature, all you need to do is read and apply it, and then it will work as designed

Code: Select all

https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/how-to-adjust-high-dpi-scaling-in-windows-10/

Edward75
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Edward75 » Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:42 am

Where to read, what to apply?
Zoom can be changed with mouse wheel (as on Windows XP or 8.1), but only to that scale. Larger does not work.
English is not my native language. Maybe just explain what to do?

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4727
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:10 am

What are your settings in GS400_settings.txt in the CEAW Grand Strategy 4.00 folder in the My Documents folder tree?

Zoom level 3 is disabled if you answer yes to LOW_RAM. It should have LOW_RAM 2 to show all zoom levels.

Which resolution did you pick when you first started the game? The native resolutions are 1024x768, 1366x768 and 1920x1080. Your resolution is different so it will have be to mapped to one of these. Probably 1366x768 is the one you need.

Edward75
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Edward75 » Sat Jul 04, 2020 1:40 pm

OK. I began to check all settings. And I discovered one problem. If I select Graphic Quality - Low, then Zoom-3 does not work. If I select High - Zoom-3 work normally!
If I choose Graphic Resolution High or Medium, then there are two problems:
1. Right side of the screen is not shown.
2. If you drag to right, screen does not move. Only left, up and down.
Image

If I choose Graphic Resolution - Low, no problems. And with any settings, game screen remains squared.
Maybe I have a different version of Java.
Damn Win 10 ...

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4727
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:56 pm

What is your native screen resolution? Are you running full screen or windowed?

1024x768 is for those who have a 4:3 aspect monitor. 1366x768 is for those with a 16:9 aspect monitor. 1920x1080 is for those who can run that resolution or higher.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4727
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:57 pm

What is your native screen resolution? Are you running full screen or windowed?

1024x768 is for those who have a 4:3 aspect monitor. 1366x768 is for those with a 16:9 aspect monitor. 1920x1080 is for those who can run that resolution or higher.

Edward75
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Edward75 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:05 pm

My native screen resolution on notebook Lenovo 1600x900.
I like to play in full screen mode, but I tried in window mode too - problem is same.

What does the window with the Option mean?
Pick Game
1. Standart - large Map
2. Fast Play - Fast Play maps

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4727
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Wed Jul 08, 2020 11:23 am

You pick 1. Standard.

When do you get asked this question about running standard or fast play? I think Fast play is with reduced map size and not supported by GS v4.00. Do you get that question when you're starting GS v4.00? I thought it was related to the vanilla game for playing on tablets etc.

Can you try playing with medium resolution? That is 1366x768 which has the same aspect ratio as you have on your screen.

Edward75
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: Problem with screen and Zoom. Windows 10

Post by Edward75 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 4:44 pm

Not. Medium and High resolution does not work. Right side of the screen is not shown. Mouse does not move to right side.
Only Low resolution. And in any case, screen is in square.

Post Reply

Return to “Commander - Europe at War : Tech Support”