Page 3 of 3

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:30 pm
by terminator
When you are trying to load the Campaign Files with the Campaign Editor, this campaign does not appear in the list.

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:57 pm
by gunnyjs
I copied the folder to both the Mods folder and the Campaign folder then started the game choose the finland mod then choose editor then I saw the campaign listed but when clicked on it just got a blank map

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:18 am
by Erik2
Confirmed. I think this is an issue with the campaign editor that it will not load an old campaign wich uses the data.cmp file.

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 11:50 am
by GabeKnight
Erik2 wrote:Confirmed. I think this is an issue with the campaign editor that it will not load an old campaign wich uses the data.cmp file.
Sorry, Erik, but that's not it. Has to work with the old files, converting them. I'd suspect there was some change in the loading procedure of scenarios (inside of mods) since the release of this mod.

Actually, the "fix" is much easier: If you create a "scenario" folder inside the "Finland at War" campaign folder in the mod (like all other campaigns have!), you'll just have to move the scenarios from the mod's main scenario folder to the (newly created) campaigns scenario folder.

There may be still some glitches left, but should be playable otherwise.

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:37 pm
by terminator
Yes, it works now :D
FinlandMod.JPG
FinlandMod.JPG (92.47 KiB) Viewed 2244 times

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:56 pm
by Erik2
The campaign itself may work, but I still can't open it in the campaign editor.
Anyone tried that?

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:45 pm
by terminator
To open this campaign with the Campaign Editor, you need to copy the file "Finland at War" from "Order of Battle - WW2>Mods>Finland in World War 2>Campaigns" and paste this file into "Order of Battle - WW2>Campaigns" :
Finland(mod).jpg
Finland(mod).jpg (56.03 KiB) Viewed 2236 times

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:35 pm
by 53rdVaInf
Hey everybody

I'd like to try this campaign but I can't get it to work :(

It shows up and I select it and all it does is sit there loading ... so if someone could give a detailed description on how to un-zip this thing and make it work I would appreciate it


Thanks in advance :wink:

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:20 am
by terminator
The solution is in the previous posts.
Your problem is that the game looks for the scenarios of the campaign but does not find them.
Solution : copy the "Scenarios" folder in the folder "Campaigns > Finland at war" :
Finland(scenarios).JPG
Finland(scenarios).JPG (58.08 KiB) Viewed 2173 times
The result :
FinlandMod.JPG
FinlandMod.JPG (92.47 KiB) Viewed 2173 times

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:41 am
by 53rdVaInf
Thanks Terminator ,

I've been trying to rename the file as suggested :roll:

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:55 pm
by 53rdVaInf
Finally got it to work but I have a very small sound problem

There's no grenade explosion sound ... is this just me or does everybody have that trouble :?:

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:26 pm
by McLeoudX
Hello!
I tried to play this mod, but as the first scenario should start, it simply don't start, the loading display stays empty, very long!

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 2:01 pm
by bru888
McLeoudX wrote:Hello!
I tried to play this mod, but as the first scenario should start, it simply don't start, the loading display stays empty, very long!
Uhu is an experienced player and he's still around, having visited these forums as recently as last week. Thus we have hope that he will notice this bumped thread and your request, and will reply.

Here are some observations, however. First, this has always been a strange situation in that, when you go to download the file, Windows interprets it as a Word file. Why that is, and why Uhu would not just save it as a compressed file with a .zip extension, is unknown. A look through some earlier posts in this thread indicates that one must either change the file extension to .zip, which is not easy for some users especially in later versions of Windows, or go ahead and just use 7-Zip to extract from the file as it is, even though it looks like a Word document.

The real issue is that this mod has not been updated since September 2016. That was before the major alteration to this game that occurred with version 5.X (I forget the exact version number, but it was the one that converted the game to a 64-bit program).
Capture1380.jpg
Capture1380.jpg (185.02 KiB) Viewed 1838 times
All modders must be prepared to update their creations as the game evolves if they want their creations to remain relevant and viable. There's no obligation, of course, but that is how it is. It's up to Uhu.

Now I could be wrong; maybe this mod is working fine for everybody else but not for you. But if it is a general failure, I wager that it's because it needs updating to be compatible with version 6.1.9 now.

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:38 pm
by McLeoudX
bru888 wrote:
McLeoudX wrote:Hello!
I tried to play this mod, but as the first scenario should start, it simply don't start, the loading display stays empty, very long!
Uhu is an experienced player and he's still around, having visited these forums as recently as last week. Thus we have hope that he will notice this bumped thread and your request, and will reply.

Here are some observations, however. First, this has always been a strange situation in that, when you go to download the file, Windows interprets it as a Word file. Why that is, and why Uhu would not just save it as a compressed file with a .zip extension, is unknown. A look through some earlier posts in this thread indicates that one must either change the file extension to .zip, which is not easy for some users especially in later versions of Windows, or go ahead and just use 7-Zip to extract from the file as it is, even though it looks like a Word document.

The real issue is that this mod has not been updated since September 2016. That was before the major alteration to this game that occurred with version 5.X (I forget the exact version number, but it was the one that converted the game to a 64-bit program).
Capture1380.jpg
All modders must be prepared to update their creations as the game evolves if they want their creations to remain relevant and viable. There's no obligation, of course, but that is how it is. It's up to Uhu.

Now I could be wrong; maybe this mod is working fine for everybody else but not for you. But if it is a general failure, I wager that it's because it needs updating to be compatible with version 6.1.9 now.
Now it works!
It is the thing withe the misleaded scenarios. I think, this should be Part of the description. or uhu should change this point of the compilation .
... --- ...
Oh No, it does'n't work.
Now the scenario starts with the deployment phase, so far, so good.
But after finishing my setup (it is not much) and pressing the next round button
happens ... nothing!
The AI wont start its work!
Good News. I have moved the campaign from the mod folder to the regular campaign folder, and now it runs (ok, I have played 2 rounds)
But I think, perhaps this is the solution , to change this mod into a campaign resp. use only the campaign part of it!
Anyway, thanks for helping me to find this solution ;)!

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 9:26 pm
by bru888
Ironically, the game still recognizes and processes this old-style campaign file . . .
Capture1392.jpg
Capture1392.jpg (158.63 KiB) Viewed 1826 times
. . . and that is why it can be played as a campaign. But if I had to guess, it's the files in this folder that are causing incompatibilities as a mod because formats and settings have changed since 2016 and all you need is one item to be incompatible with version 6.1.9 to stop this mod in its tracks:
Capture1393.jpg
Capture1393.jpg (151.14 KiB) Viewed 1826 times

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:25 am
by McLeoudX
bru888 wrote:Ironically, the game still recognizes and processes this old-style campaign file . . .
$matches[2]
. . . and that is why it can be played as a campaign. But if I had to guess, it's the files in this folder that are causing incompatibilities as a mod because formats and settings have changed since 2016 and all you need is one item to be incompatible with version 6.1.9 to stop this mod in its tracks:
Capture1393.jpg
Yes, I understand.
Perhaps it is possible to rebuild the Mod with the actual editor?

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:31 pm
by bru888
McLeoudX wrote:Perhaps it is possible to rebuild the Mod with the actual editor?
Don't tempt me. :wink:

Besides, we must respect Uhu's right to maintain and improve his own work. He is still around, as I mentioned earlier. We will see.

EDIT: I took a look at his profile again and I noticed two other projects shown in his signature that he has worked on as recently as March and April of this year, Italian and Hungarian campaigns, so I have a feeling Uhu will be stopping by here sooner or later.

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:02 am
by Chema_cagi
McLeoudX wrote:
Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:38 pm
Now the scenario starts with the deployment phase, so far, so good.
But after finishing my setup (it is not much) and pressing the next round button
happens ... nothing!
The AI wont start its work!
I have this same problem in the official Kriegsmarine DLC, 3rd scenario (Wolfpack). After clicking the end deployment button, nothing happens. I had to stop playing the Kriegsmarine campaign because of this. It may be a base game bug...


Will try your solution with the Finland mod, copying the campaign folder as a normal campaign. Thank you! . But dunno what to do with the Kriegsmarine "Wolfpack" scenario...

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:42 am
by McLeoudX
Chema_cagi wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:02 am
McLeoudX wrote:
Mon Jul 02, 2018 4:38 pm
Now the scenario starts with the deployment phase, so far, so good.
But after finishing my setup (it is not much) and pressing the next round button
happens ... nothing!
The AI wont start its work!
I have this same problem in the official Kriegsmarine DLC, 3rd scenario (Wolfpack). After clicking the end deployment button, nothing happens. I had to stop playing the Kriegsmarine campaign because of this. It may be a base game bug...


Will try your solution with the Finland mod, copying the campaign folder as a normal campaign. Thank you! . But dunno what to do with the Kriegsmarine "Wolfpack" scenario...
I think, that there are units, which will be used for the Finland Campaign!

Re: Custom campaign - Finland in WW 2 (v1.1 released 15.09.2

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:15 pm
by Chema_cagi
Chema_cagi wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:02 am

Will try your solution with the Finland mod, copying the campaign folder as a normal campaign. Thank you! .
After finishing the deployment of the second scenario, a message pops up inviting me to buy the Winter War DLC...which I don't have :). It seems the game treats the scenario as if it was the "try campaign" feature

Thank you anyway, McLeoudX, it was a good idea