Supply Points

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Post Reply
vexiliant
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:31 am
Location: Canada

Supply Points

Post by vexiliant » Fri Nov 15, 2019 3:27 am

Uhh, so basically, i'm confused.

Does this affect anything or is this a "visual glitch"? Because it says +0 but its in Blue Teams territory. It clearly says +21.
battlekirkwelllittlesnippetsmileyface.jpg
battlekirkwelllittlesnippetsmileyface.jpg (93.73 KiB) Viewed 554 times
Image

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7134
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Supply Points

Post by Erik2 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:34 am

Looks like the 5'er is atop an airfield. So this provides supply to the AF affecting air unit deployment and repair if I remember correctly..
This is totally separate from the ground supply.

vexiliant
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 5:31 am
Location: Canada

Re: Supply Points

Post by vexiliant » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:00 pm

Erik2 wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:34 am
Looks like the 5'er is atop an airfield. So this provides supply to the AF affecting air unit deployment and repair if I remember correctly..
This is totally separate from the ground supply.
Just tested it, it still had +0 even though I added another airfield. But I do understand the reasoning. Thanks Erik, and yes, it is an airfield. :D :!:
Image

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7134
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Supply Points

Post by Erik2 » Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:20 am

Yes, the airfield supply is somewhat confusing.
It seems the game counts the overall supply for both sides in the editor.
There was some discussion about this a while back.
I think official designer bebro attempted to educate us amateur designers about this :D

terminator
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3888
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by terminator » Sun Nov 17, 2019 8:22 am

Erik2 wrote:
Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:20 am
Yes, the airfield supply is somewhat confusing.
It seems the game counts the overall supply for both sides in the editor.
There was some discussion about this a while back.
I think official designer bebro attempted to educate us amateur designers about this :D
It seems that the game only counts the Air Supply for the Player side(Germany) and not for the AI side(USA) in the Editor. It works well for Land Supply, why wouldn’t it work for Air Supply ? For me it is an Editor Bug !

supply(3).JP.jpg
supply(3).JP.jpg (259.96 KiB) Viewed 490 times

Haako
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by Haako » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:02 pm

You are both right and wrong :)

I tested small map with few air units. I looks like, the editor remembers Air Supply for last "Launched Scenario" and then counts Air Supply for any other side in the scenario. When I changed human player for another side, added or subtracted units/Supply Points or changed Supply Output, the game was still counting Air Supply for last played scenario and human player side.

So, for me, it is not only the an editor bug, but more a interference flaw.
Last edited by Haako on Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Haako
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by Haako » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:05 pm

I have problems with adding files on this forum, sorry :/

Here is first pic:
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (960.34 KiB) Viewed 471 times

Haako
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by Haako » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:06 pm

2ed pic:
Attachments
2.jpg
2.jpg (965.55 KiB) Viewed 469 times

Haako
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by Haako » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:07 pm

... and 3rd, which gives you the most answers: Each time you test the scenario and change which side is played by human player, the Supply stats will change in the editor.
Attachments
3.jpg
3.jpg (943.52 KiB) Viewed 468 times

terminator
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3888
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by terminator » Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:50 pm

Haako wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:02 pm
You are both right and wrong :)

I tested small map with few air units. I looks like, the editor remembers Air Supply for last "Launched Scenario" and then counts Air Supply for any other side in the scenario. When I changed human player for another side, added or subtracted units/Supply Points or changed Supply Output, the game was still counting Air Supply for last played scenario and human player side.

So, for me, it is not only the an editor bug, but more a interference flaw.
Why I am wrong :?:

I have changed the side, save and then reload the scenario with the Editor.
The result is always the same :arrow: It seems that the game only counts the Air Supply for the Player side(USA in this new case) and not for the AI side(Germany in this new case) in the Editor :

supply(4).JP.jpg
supply(4).JP.jpg (374.36 KiB) Viewed 462 times

:arrow: PS: when you make certain changes with the Editor, you sometimes have to save and reload the scenario so that the Editor takes changes into account (for example to count the number of units with the same Ai).

Haako
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:48 pm

Re: Supply Points

Post by Haako » Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:57 pm

terminator wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:50 pm
Why I am wrong :?:
You were right, that game counts Air Supply properly for human player and show player numbers for all sides, and "wrong" that game is not counting (by games system) Air Supply for other sides. I didn't mean to be mean by saying you are wrong ;)
terminator wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:50 pm
I have changed the side, save and then reload the scenario with the Editor.
The result is always the same :arrow: It seems that the game only counts the Air Supply for the Player side(USA in this new case) and not for the AI side(Germany in this new case) in the Editor :
What I wanted to prove or what I got by doing this small test, is that game count Supply properly, but will count and show supply of human player. In my screens every side is counted properly but numbers shown are incorrect :/
terminator wrote:
Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:50 pm
:arrow: PS: when you make certain changes with the Editor, you sometimes have to save and reload the scenario so that the Editor takes changes into account (for example to count the number of units with the same Ai).
Hmm.. Try that trick, which worked for me: When you press J, units stats will change from Unit Strength to AI Team Number (what you surely know), but whenever I press it again, numbers will refresh. So, you don't have to reload scenario. Still, I can't/don't know how to escape this mode and reverse to units strength view (and for that I have to reload the map).

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Scenario Design”