LoS penalty doubled

Take one of the most modern, fun and engaging board games created in recent years. Match it with cutting-edge technology. Add a ridiculously well-crafted art style and a ton of extra content. This is the recipe to one of the most thrilling, charming and captivating strategy games you will ever find!
Post Reply
tycoon
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:04 am

LoS penalty doubled

Post by tycoon » Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:07 pm

I just noticed that the -1 LoS penalty is doubled when shooting true a wheatfield, have send the report . - 12 for 6 squares seems a bit harsh....
Be carefull what you wish for, you just might get it!

visualrob
Heroes of Normandie
Heroes of Normandie
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 9:06 am

Re: LoS penalty doubled

Post by visualrob » Sat Oct 10, 2015 12:08 am

Hi, tycoon!

Were you trying to suppressive fire? The rules of suppressive fire state that any bonus of the attacker (positive or negative) must be doubled. This means -6 becomes -12!

nostradunwhich
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:14 am

Re: LoS penalty doubled

Post by nostradunwhich » Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:23 am

visualrob wrote:Hi, tycoon!

Were you trying to suppressive fire? The rules of suppressive fire state that any bonus of the attacker (positive or negative) must be doubled. This means -6 becomes -12!
Actually, that is not quite right. This is going to be very "inside baseball", but Suppressive fire is one of the most complex mechanics in the game. This is all based on the boardgame, of course.

Suppressive Fire doubles all modifiers to the shot (appropriate attack value for the unit, Ammo or Ammo belt bonus, Fire on the Move penalty, etc.). To that value you add the die roll, this gives you your "result".

That result can then be modified by a few factors. According to the HoN rules, Obscured LoS subtracts the value of the symbol from the final result (p. 11 of v1.2b Rulebook). Likewise the penalty for Long Range is also subtracted from the final result (p. 9 of v1.2b Rulebook). In all such cases, these modifiers are not doubled by Suppressive Fire.

Once you have the actual, modified, "Final Result" you compare that against the target's defense value to see if you hit.

Edit to add: This was a lot less clear in the original version of the rulebook, which could certainly explain the discrepancy.

Post Reply

Return to “Heroes of Normandie”