Page 1 of 1

LoS penalty doubled

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:07 pm
by tycoon
I just noticed that the -1 LoS penalty is doubled when shooting true a wheatfield, have send the report . - 12 for 6 squares seems a bit harsh....

Re: LoS penalty doubled

Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 12:08 am
by visualrob
Hi, tycoon!

Were you trying to suppressive fire? The rules of suppressive fire state that any bonus of the attacker (positive or negative) must be doubled. This means -6 becomes -12!

Re: LoS penalty doubled

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 6:23 am
by nostradunwhich
visualrob wrote:Hi, tycoon!

Were you trying to suppressive fire? The rules of suppressive fire state that any bonus of the attacker (positive or negative) must be doubled. This means -6 becomes -12!
Actually, that is not quite right. This is going to be very "inside baseball", but Suppressive fire is one of the most complex mechanics in the game. This is all based on the boardgame, of course.

Suppressive Fire doubles all modifiers to the shot (appropriate attack value for the unit, Ammo or Ammo belt bonus, Fire on the Move penalty, etc.). To that value you add the die roll, this gives you your "result".

That result can then be modified by a few factors. According to the HoN rules, Obscured LoS subtracts the value of the symbol from the final result (p. 11 of v1.2b Rulebook). Likewise the penalty for Long Range is also subtracted from the final result (p. 9 of v1.2b Rulebook). In all such cases, these modifiers are not doubled by Suppressive Fire.

Once you have the actual, modified, "Final Result" you compare that against the target's defense value to see if you hit.

Edit to add: This was a lot less clear in the original version of the rulebook, which could certainly explain the discrepancy.