CTD while playing

Post Reply
randommonicle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:32 pm

CTD while playing

Post by randommonicle » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:34 pm

Hi, i am havign an odd CTD while playing, i can play the game fine for a few mine, then it will lock up and throw me to the desktop.

If i try to load the save, the game will then freeze.

Has anyone else experiences this?

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15452
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: CTD while playing

Post by zakblood » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:36 pm

welcome to the board / forum, sorry about the issue your having,

How to get a DirectX Diagnostic file:

1. click on "START"
2. click "run"
3. type in "dxdiag" and click "OK"
4. check through the tabs and perform all tests
5. click "Save all Information..." and save the text file to a location of your choice

We prefer that DxDiag files be posted as message attachments rather than pasted into the body of the post.

once the report has been made, just attach it to your post with first adding the file to a zip, which is then permitted to attach to the forum

if it's something you can replicate from a save or known given position or item your doing at the time, the more information and detail the better

randommonicle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:32 pm

Re: CTD while playing

Post by randommonicle » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:42 pm

Hello, here is a dxdiag file and the fatal file.
Attachments
Fatal.zip
(223 Bytes) Downloaded 55 times
DxDiag.zip
(16.89 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15452
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: CTD while playing

Post by zakblood » Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:49 pm

dual gpu

can you make sure your default is the card, and not the onboard chip etc?

Code: Select all

https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/pc-components/how-set-default-graphics-card-3612668/
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600

NVIDIA High Definition Audio fine
Realtek High Definition Audio few months out of date, but still fine
ASUS Xonar DG Audio Device 11/12/2013 and not win 10 cert

Sound Tab 3 & 5 error

Diagnostics report errors

P1: stellaris.exe
P1: stellaris.exe
P1: OneDriveSetup.exe
P1: OneDriveSetup.exe
P1: OneDriveSetup.exe
Event Name: WinSetupDiag02

and other windows errors, none game related

nothing in the report to say it's this game related tbh, all points to a conflict with something else loaded, best advice is load a clean profile

so anto virus and steam lets say only and run the game, if it doesn't error, you have a solution, that something else loaded in the startup has conflicted with the game,

try the anti virus and spyware logs and firewall to see if anything game related is mentioned and post back results etc if it works or not

randommonicle
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:32 pm

Re: CTD while playing

Post by randommonicle » Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:37 pm

Sorry, what do you mean by a fresh profile?

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15452
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: CTD while playing

Post by zakblood » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:03 am

edit what runs as start up on the pc, either manually with a program, i use ccleaner to do it, but you can do it from within windows,

Code: Select all

https://www.techadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/change-windows-10-startup-programs-3615075/
just have your AV and steam let say loaded and recheck for game errors etc and on clean boot, if all logs asked were clean above and checks for more up to date and signed driver for the sound card etc

Ufnv
SoftWarWare
SoftWarWare
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:19 pm

Re: CTD while playing

Post by Ufnv » Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:16 pm

"Fatal." file contains very strange errors - it shows it cannot open files:
Error opening file C:\Users\ben\Documents\My Games/Polaris Sector/SAVES/AUTO1/AllRoles.txt
Error opening file C:\Users\ben\Documents\My Games/Polaris Sector/DESIGNS/info.txt
Error opening file C:\Users\ben\Documents\My Games/Polaris Sector/SAVES/AUTO2/AllRoles.txt

This means there are some problems with the file system. Are you sure your HDD is fine and you have rights to save/read the files?

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”