Shooting???

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Thaddeus
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz

Shooting???

Post by Thaddeus » Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:06 pm

I am new to the game and currently reading and re-reading the rules. I am a former Warhammer and LotR player but crave a good historically accurate game. My chief concern/question is the shooting and the ranges. Looking at the rules, using 25/28mm models, for bows and artillery, 6 - 12 inches seems very, very short. Am I reading or interpreting the MUs incorrectly or is this the real deal? If it is the intent that these ranges are this short, can someone validate this for me???

v/r
Thaddeus

david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger

Re: Shooting???

Post by david53 » Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:14 pm

Thaddeus wrote:I am new to the game and currently reading and re-reading the rules. I am a former Warhammer and LotR player but crave a good historically accurate game. My chief concern/question is the shooting and the ranges. Looking at the rules, using 25/28mm models, for bows and artillery, 6 - 12 inches seems very, very short. Am I reading or interpreting the MUs incorrectly or is this the real deal? If it is the intent that these ranges are this short, can someone validate this for me???

v/r
Thaddeus
Yes its four inchs (4MU) for Mounted bows
and
Up to four inches effective range for Foot Bows
Up to six inchs long range.
I'm sure someone more knowledgable can explain why those ranges were picked.

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team

Post by hammy » Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:25 pm

Shooting ranges are linked to the speed of movement and overall scale of the game. Movement of for example cavalry is such that archers will get at most two volleys of missiles before determined cavalry charge home.