Autobreak

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Autobreak

Post by ravenflight » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:06 am

Hi All,

It's been done before, and I've searched previous threads, but I just wanted to make sure that I'm doing this right:

Scenario: A BG of 8 steady Average Pike with a general in the front rank get reduced to 4 bases in the Melee phase:

Melee Phase
1 - Resolve melee combats - the Pike are reduced to 4 bases and autobreak.
2 - Resolve all the cohesion checks for this phase (they pass), then death roll, which is effectively when the pike really 'break', then commander death. :!:
3 - Assault camps (not relevant - put in for completeness)
4 - We now know the unit has broken so those within 3 MU test
5 - VMD to see how far they run, and if they get caught do another test for the commander. :?:

JAPhase
blah blah blah - the figures are removed from the table, and the commander (if he's still hanging around) can mosey up to the next BG who are probably looking at him with a suspicious glint in their eye - especially if they happened to notice he was leading the last failed assault!


:!: They passed the cohesion test, but they broke, so is the roll a 10 or an 11 (assuming they lost) or a 12 (assuming they won)
:?: This is definitely a 10.


Does that sound right?

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8717
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:10 am

Killing generals is an 11+ in combat, a 10+ after pursuit move
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

davidandlynda
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 815
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:17 am

Post by davidandlynda » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:50 am

They also do another rout move in the JAP phase then are removed form play at the end of the phase
David

babyshark
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: Government; and I'm here to help.

Post by babyshark » Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:01 pm

philqw78 wrote:Killing generals is an 11+ in combat, a 10+ after pursuit move
To clarify: a general gets killed on an 11+ if the BG he is leading from the front rank takes at least two hits and loses the combat. If the BG takes at least two hits but does not lose the combat, he gets killed on a 12.

Marc

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8717
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:39 pm

babyshark wrote:To clarify: a general gets killed on an 11+ if the BG he is leading from the front rank takes at least two hits and loses the combat. If the BG takes at least two hits but does not lose the combat, he gets killed on a 12.

Marc
Pedant.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

spikemesq
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 472
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:18 am

Post by spikemesq » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:01 pm

I thought that autobreaks happen in the JAP, so here the Pike would rout only then and not in the Melee Phase.

Also do the autobreaking Pikes count as breaking in close combat such that they force tests to nearby units (don't have the rules handy to check)?

Spike

marshalney2000
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:14 am

Post by marshalney2000 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:24 pm

Spike, auto breaks happen immediately but the units are not removed until the end of the JAP. other units test for their rout as they would any other
John

countadam
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:42 pm

Post by countadam » Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:12 pm

marshalney2000 wrote:Spike, auto breaks happen immediately but the units are not removed until the end of the JAP. other units test for their rout as they would any other
John
Thats correct - They rout again. However you only test for a break and never a rout. So, only those units within 3MUs of the break test.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”