Elephants and longbow men stakes

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
madmike111
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:20 am
Location: West Aussieland

Elephants and longbow men stakes

Post by madmike111 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:46 am

Played a game on the weekend where I discovered that my elephants ignore the stakes placed by longbow men. While this was a pleasant surprise is this correct as I would have thought that stakes would work just as well on elephants as they do against knights?

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8643
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:14 am

Since elephants knock down trees with gay abandon stakes would not cause them much problem.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Post by kal5056 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:11 pm

[quote="philqw78"]Since elephants knock down trees with gay abandon [quote]

What 2 elephants of consenting age do behind closed doors has no place being discussed on this board.
Gino
SMAC

SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Post by SirGarnet » Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:31 am

kal5056 wrote:
philqw78 wrote:Since elephants knock down trees with gay abandon
What 2 elephants of consenting age do behind closed doors has no place being discussed on this board.
Gino
SMAC
What a dirty mind! They were knocking DOWN trees, not knocking them UP.




(Apologies to confused Britons, for whom knocking up someone means a friendly visit)

kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Post by kal5056 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:20 am

MikeK wrote:
kal5056 wrote:
philqw78 wrote:Since elephants knock down trees with gay abandon
What 2 elephants of consenting age do behind closed doors has no place being discussed on this board.
Gino
SMAC
What a dirty mind! They were knocking DOWN trees, not knocking them UP.




(Apologies to confused Britons, for whom knocking up someone means a friendly visit)
We really are 2 countries seperated by a common language aren't we?
Gino
SMAC

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8643
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:27 am

I've been knocked up a few times.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan » Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:57 am

I get knocked down... (chorus).
:lol:

peteratjet
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:36 am

Post by peteratjet » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:09 am

The longbow men still get the benefit of MF not being in open terrain though, don't they? So it's not a complete waste, even though they do not offer complete protection against unwanted pachydermal advances.

SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Post by SirGarnet » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:19 am

peteratjet wrote:The longbow men still get the benefit of MF not being in open terrain though, don't they? So it's not a complete waste, even though they do not offer complete protection against unwanted pachydermal advances.
I fear PDs are not an anti-pachydermal prophylactic.

On a serious note, MF in open terrain still count in open terrain unless defending field fortifications (see definition of open terrain). Portable defences count as field fortifications against mounted other than elephants - they provide no defensive benefit. However, troops defending PD don't conform to enemy attacking across them (even if the PD provides no defensive benefit). See p 121. This ensures the PDs are not lost by conforming away from them unless taken in flank or rear.

So that counts for something.

ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Post by ShrubMiK » Sat Jun 05, 2010 1:48 pm

>(Apologies to confused Britons, for whom knocking up someone means a friendly visit)

Hmm. I think that may be one of those regionally-specific things! I don't recall ever hearing it used that way.

But I also think you should apologise to confused Americans, who as far as I have been able to ascertain "visit with" rather than "visit" somebody ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”