Portable defences costs

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
Hermano
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:27 pm

Portable defences costs

Post by Hermano » Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:10 pm

Hello, I would like to know how many stakes I need to cover a BG of longbows.
I see in the list that portable defences only cover half the bases of each BG, and their cost is 3.
Does it mean that I need 2 portable defences to fully cover a BG, then its cost should be 6?

Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Robert241167 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:18 pm

Hi Hermano

People generally take longbows in BG's of 6 or 8 so half would mean 3 to 4 portable defences.

Rob

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8701
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:23 pm

Half your bases carry the defences. So the BG can be covered to front if 2 deep. If only 1 deep you need to decide where to put them. If three deep you will have some spare
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

Polkovnik
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:16 pm

Re: Portable defences costs

Post by Polkovnik » Mon Jun 28, 2010 12:40 pm

Hermano wrote:Does it mean that I need 2 portable defences to fully cover a BG, then its cost should be 6?
If you had a BG of 4 bases of archers (although that is unlikely and maybe not possible in any army lists) you would need 2 portable defences to cover it, so the cost would be 6.

BlackPrince
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:34 pm

Post by BlackPrince » Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:38 pm

You are buying stakes for the front rank of archers only that is why it says stakes for half the longbowmen. It assumes you will only use your archers in a formation of two even ranks.

Personally do not buy the stakes most of the time your longbowmen can handle the enemy without them or opponent will send armoured HF against your longbowmen and stakes will have no effect.
Keith

It was better to leave disputing about the faith to the theologians and just run argumentative non-believers through with the sword (Louis IX).

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”