v4.06

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

list_lurker
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:51 am
Contact:

v4.06

Post by list_lurker » Thu Jan 04, 2007 11:45 am

I'd just like to say that this version is great leap forward towards what I feel is a completed product

Simon :lol:

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Thu Jan 04, 2007 4:25 pm

good news thanks

Si

donm
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 584
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:08 am
Location: Clevedon, England

Post by donm » Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:47 pm

Printed off the new version last night. Have only had a quick chance to look at the rules as I put them in my folder. However the front three page index does look very daunting, could this not de reduced to just the major chapter titles and the full details added at the begining of each chapter. A full listing could be placed on the last couple of pages.

Otherwise layout looks much better.

I thought I may be going too far with my plastic figure idea, but full marks for the card elements idea. :o

Steve and I will be playing tomorrow night, so hopefully full report on Sunday. Will try to remember camera.

Don M

vincent
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:27 pm
Location: Paris, France

not received yet

Post by vincent » Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:19 pm

I haven't received, yet, the 4.06 version.

Should I check again my spam controller in case it inadvertantly destroyed it?
Best regards


Vincent

donm
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 584
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:08 am
Location: Clevedon, England

Post by donm » Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:24 pm

Should I check again my spam controller in case it inadvertantly destroyed it?
NO, my understanding is that it has only been sent to those going to Usk.

Don M

vincent
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:27 pm
Location: Paris, France

Post by vincent » Fri Jan 05, 2007 1:32 am

donm wrote:NO, my understanding is that it has only been sent to those going to Usk.
OK thanks, I'll wait
Best regards


Vincent

jdm
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 1139
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:41 am

Post by jdm » Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:42 pm

This is correct, it is very much a trial for the competition, we are reluctant to deluge beta testers with new versions to frequently. A lot of the new version concentrates on the new layout style.

Regards
JDM

marshalney2000
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:14 am

Post by marshalney2000 » Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:20 pm

I understand the reluctance to continually deluge playtesters with new versions but is there not a danger that we will have postings on the forum that will be confusing due to playtesters working from and commenting on two different versions.
I do not know if the likely changes for USK as outlined by RBS in a few postings have been incorporated in the new version but many of these were pretty fundamental.
I for one do not mind being deluged a little.
John

donm
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 584
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:08 am
Location: Clevedon, England

Post by donm » Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:14 pm

Played our first game with 4.06 on Friday night, Indians v Arabs. My Indians got well and truly hammered, partly due to a bad call of not wanting to pay for swordsmen. The '--' in the melees and my run of ones on the dice sealed my fate. The Indians is my first time of using an army with alot of average not very good troops. The not being able to re-roll ones was a major 'killer'.

As to the rules everything went just fine, could do with new quick reference sheets before Usk. Had to keep looking in the main rules.

I am a bit worried seeing the other postings, that Steve and I do not seem to be finding the same problems that others are. I do hope we are not missing something and will pay the price at Usk.

On another note this was our first game of 15mm after several 25mm. I know that Steve like myself is not a great lover of the 15mm game, mainly because in DBM you spend the game messing about with skirmishers. We were both pleasantly supprised that AoW gave us vertually the same game in both scales. Admittedly with the narrower bases the troops do not spread as far, but the game was decided by Steve's better quality cavalry riding over my archers, while his average spearmen did for my elephants. I was forced to fight as it is much more difficult to hold up heavy infantry attacks under AoW. My personnal feeling is that shirmishing in AoW will be a skill not mastered by many.

Steve and I are looking forward to Usk alot. :D

I think many of us will be outside 'our comfort zone' with many unanswered questions,
Have I understood the rules right?
What army to use?
What will other people use?
Why have I agreed to do this?

I must admit to feeling quite excited :?

Don M

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:50 pm

donm wrote:Steve and I are looking forward to Usk alot. :D

I think many of us will be outside 'our comfort zone' with many unanswered questions,
Have I understood the rules right?
What army to use?
What will other people use?
Why have I agreed to do this?

I must admit to feeling quite excited :?

Don M
Me too, I really need to get an army sorted out ASAP. The trouble is I feel I should try to bring a prettier one rather than a super custom tailored death machine army. Actually that is mainly because I haven't yet worked out the SCTDM options for Art of War :?

Hammy

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Mon Jan 08, 2007 1:20 pm

Me too, I really need to get an army sorted out ASAP. The trouble is I feel I should try to bring a prettier one rather than a super custom tailored death machine army. Actually that is mainly because I haven't yet worked out the SCTDM options for Art of War
I don't think ther is one....but if you find it let us know and we'll finish it off for you!!

I am looking foward to USK very much. After all the hard by all of you testers it will be great to get a good weekend to shhot the breeze on all the issues and get a feel for how the game might work at competition level.

Si

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:21 am

Some comments / questions from my reading of 4.06 so far.

Can a charge that is directly forwards include a shift?

Medium foot shock troops are still not forced to test if their target is not in the open, this seems a bit odd. Possibly the in the open should be in terrain that does not dissorder?

Restricted area - one of the bullets mentions "If pinned" I supect this is DBX baggage as I can find no mention of pinning in the rules.

Combat example, it looks like the Gauls should be on -2 not -1 for their first CT.

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:31 am

Thanks James,
Can a charge that is directly forwards include a shift?
No a charge cannot include a shift - just wheels. Technically so, as a charge is not a move from the green advance section as you are only using that table in the movement phase. It also says IIRC "no shifts are possible if charging" in tha section just to be safe and clear. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Medium foot shock troops are still not forced to test if their target is not in the open, this seems a bit odd. Possibly the in the open should be in terrain that does not dissorder?
Indeed, still udner discussion. We need a balance witrh HF who are not required to charge in so hard to make MF charge out. We are erring towards making MF test if the move would not take them into open terrain in such circumstances - soi they would charge other MF in rough for example.
Restricted area - one of the bullets mentions "If pinned" I supect this is DBX baggage as I can find no mention of pinning in the rules.
Probably true thanks.
Combat example, it looks like the Gauls should be on -2 not -1 for their first CT.
The gauls win the first round so don't have a cohesion test. Romans on a -1. Could you recheck as I am missing you. Ta

Si

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:35 am

Can a charge that is directly forwards include a shift?
No a charge cannot include a shift - just wheels. Technically so, as a charge is not a move from the green advance section as you are only using that table in the movement phase. It also says IIRC "no shifts are possible if charging" in tha section just to be safe and clear. Correct me if I'm wrong.
In charges is just says:
"Charges can be directly ahead or can include a single wheel at any stage"

And under shifting it says:
"Any move purely from the Advance box on the Simple/Complex move chart can include shifting."

Now it doesn't say specifically that you can shift and charge but it also doesn't say you can't.
Combat example, it looks like the Gauls should be on -2 not -1 for their first CT.
The gauls win the first round so don't have a cohesion test. Romans on a -1. Could you recheck as.
Doh! I made a quick note and got it wrong. My comment should have read Romans and not Gauls.

"There are only a few modifiers: <snip>. Fortunatley the Romans only scored one less hit than they inflictes, so they are only on -1. They roll 5,3 = 8, but the modifiers bring this down to 6." ???

Cheers

Hammy

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:41 am

In charges is just says:
"Charges can be directly ahead or can include a single wheel at any stage"
As a general principle we try tosay what you can do. If its not in you can't do it.
And under shifting it says:
"Any move purely from the Advance box on the Simple/Complex move chart can include shifting."
When charging you are not making such a move you are doing a charge which is different.
Now it doesn't say specifically that you can shift and charge but it also doesn't say you can't.
Does it have 3 bullets points underneatha nd if so what does the last one say? Maybe we have different versions.

shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall » Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:44 am

Quote:
Quote:
Combat example, it looks like the Gauls should be on -2 not -1 for their first CT.



The gauls win the first round so don't have a cohesion test. Romans on a -1. Could you recheck as.



Doh! I made a quick note and got it wrong. My comment should have read Romans and not Gauls.

"There are only a few modifiers: <snip>. Fortunatley the Romans only scored one less hit than they inflictes, so they are only on -1. They roll 5,3 = 8, but the modifiers bring this down to 6." ???
With you now - you changed sides darn you :-)
Ok with you now. -2 for 1hp3 and losing to imp ft. Will correct.

Si

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Wed Jan 10, 2007 12:07 pm

shall wrote:
Now it doesn't say specifically that you can shift and charge but it also doesn't say you can't.
Does it have 3 bullets points underneatha nd if so what does the last one say? Maybe we have different versions.
OK, found it. I was perhaps reading too fast.

I suspect I noticed som execptions in the charge rules and that there was no prohibition on shifting but didn't fully check the shifting rules :oops:

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22199
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott » Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:11 pm

hammy wrote:
No a charge cannot include a shift - just wheels. Technically so, as a charge is not a move from the green advance section as you are only using that table in the movement phase. It also says IIRC "no shifts are possible if charging" in tha section just to be safe and clear. Correct me if I'm wrong.
In charges is just says:
"Charges can be directly ahead or can include a single wheel at any stage"

And under shifting it says:
"Any move purely from the Advance box on the Simple/Complex move chart can include shifting."

Now it doesn't say specifically that you can shift and charge but it also doesn't say you can't.
Charges have their own box - hence are not from the Advance box.

madaxeman
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2937
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:15 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

4.06

Post by madaxeman » Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:35 pm

Hmmm - I'm not able to go to Usk, but am still playing with 4.04 at the weekend.

should I be expecting an upgrade?
http://www.madaxeman.com
Become a fan of Madaxeman on Facebook at Madaxeman.com's Facebook Page.

nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10265
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Re: 4.06

Post by nikgaukroger » Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:10 am

madaxeman wrote:

should I be expecting an upgrade?
Your Cybus Industries representative will be with you shortly ...

:wink:

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”