re-rolls?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
grandad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:42 pm

re-rolls?

Post by grandad » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:58 pm

i don't understand this elites get a re-roll on 1s and 2s so say you have 2 bases in a melee and you roll a 2 an 6 you re-roll the 2 and roll a 1 dose this mean you roll it again

paullongmore
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: re-rolls?

Post by paullongmore » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:04 pm

No you only get 1 reroll of each dice.
Incidentally this cant result in a worse value than the original. (You get to keep the original roll)

grandad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: re-rolls?

Post by grandad » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:11 pm

but you still miss i do understand why it says you you cant roll lower than your original

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: re-rolls?

Post by ravenflight » Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:47 am

grandad wrote:but you still miss i do understand why it says you you cant roll lower than your original
Because lets say you do a cohesion test and roll 2 x 2's. This would disrupt you BUT you get to reroll both dice, you get a 5 and a 1 which fails BUT the 1 cannot be worse than a 2 so you've passed on 7. Doesn't really matter in combat however.

Polkovnik
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:16 pm

Re: re-rolls?

Post by Polkovnik » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:29 am

ravenflight wrote:
grandad wrote:but you still miss i do understand why it says you you cant roll lower than your original
Because lets say you do a cohesion test and roll 2 x 2's. This would disrupt you BUT you get to reroll both dice, you get a 5 and a 1 which fails BUT the 1 cannot be worse than a 2 so you've passed on 7. Doesn't really matter in combat however.
That raises an interesting point to be aware of. Say you'd rolled 1 and 2 first time, and re-rolled them. I think most of use would just pick them both up and re-roll them together. But you should presumably roll them separately, so that you know which was the 1 and which was the 2. Because if you re-rolled and got a 5 and a 1, it matters which one was re-rolled as which. If the original 1 was re-rolled as the 1, it remains 1 (leaving a total of 6), but if the 2 was re-rolled as 1 it stays as 2 (leaving a total of 7).

Although the only time this can matter is in this exact case - Elite troops rolling a 1 and a 2 in a CT / CMT.

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: re-rolls?

Post by ravenflight » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:35 pm

Polkovnik wrote:
ravenflight wrote:
grandad wrote:but you still miss i do understand why it says you you cant roll lower than your original
Because lets say you do a cohesion test and roll 2 x 2's. This would disrupt you BUT you get to reroll both dice, you get a 5 and a 1 which fails BUT the 1 cannot be worse than a 2 so you've passed on 7. Doesn't really matter in combat however.
That raises an interesting point to be aware of. Say you'd rolled 1 and 2 first time, and re-rolled them. I think most of use would just pick them both up and re-roll them together. But you should presumably roll them separately, so that you know which was the 1 and which was the 2. Because if you re-rolled and got a 5 and a 1, it matters which one was re-rolled as which. If the original 1 was re-rolled as the 1, it remains 1 (leaving a total of 6), but if the 2 was re-rolled as 1 it stays as 2 (leaving a total of 7).

Although the only time this can matter is in this exact case - Elite troops rolling a 1 and a 2 in a CT / CMT.
Yes, You should re-roll them separately... no, I wouldn't do it that way and COULD be in an embarrassing situation, but it is so rare I'd just accept the folly and re-roll both a second time.

This is one of the things I stated a couple of times in my comp games. If you make a mistake with your dice rolling you do the LOT again, despite rolling a really good roll. For example, lets say you have 4 advantaged and 4 disadvantaged. You roll 8 dice and get 7 4's and a 5. Well, that really sucks because you're gonna have to re-roll the LOT again separately so you know which of the 4's hit. I see people try to do statistical analysis to work it out. Nope, bad luck, you should have worked out your colour coding or rolled separately first time.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”