Paying 2 MUs for turns - a couple of questions.

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
samwardesq
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:32 pm

Paying 2 MUs for turns - a couple of questions.

Post by samwardesq » Sat Oct 26, 2013 7:02 am

1. Do evaders pay 2 MU for a 90 / 180 turn if this is part of their evade move?
2. If so, why in the evaders 90 degree turn does the side nearest the chargers become the rear of the battle group (pp 66-67, V1), implying a hastier turn (but at the cost for a full regular turn?)
3. Do broken troops pay 2MU for the 90 or 180 turns which are almost always the first part of their rout?

RobKhan
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Paying 2 MUs for turns - a couple of questions.

Post by RobKhan » Sat Oct 26, 2013 8:33 am

For once I am answering a question :D
I think the general principle here is that the 2MU reduction is for movement in the movement phase, and only applies in that phase. The other events are response to a charge in the impact phase and routing in the 2 combat phases, shooting phase and the JAP.

So there I have stuck my neck out - am I right?

Cheers
Robkhan
"Merry it was to laugh there
Where death becomes absurd and life absurder.
For power was on us as we slashed bones bare.
Not to feel sickness or remorse of murder." Wilfred Owen 1893-1918.

bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Re: Paying 2 MUs for turns - a couple of questions.

Post by bbotus » Sat Oct 26, 2013 9:04 am

Yes, movement reductions do not apply to compulsory moves.

On question 2: The turn for evaders is free. Then they wheel to directly away from the chargers or their rear (assuming a non flank/rear charge) and make their move plus VMD. It is a game mechanic because the authors don't want the evading BG to be able to turn and increase the distance from the charging BG just because the unit turned. For the same reason, if you pursue a routing BG and remain in contact, the base removed is the furthest base from the BG in contact. Otherwise it would be conceivable that a routing unit could lose a base breaking contact and, therefore, not be in contact anymore.

Edit correction: Page 70 specifies that there is no move distance deduction for turns when evading.

samwardesq
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:32 pm

Re: Paying 2 MUs for turns - a couple of questions.

Post by samwardesq » Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:09 am

Thanks guys, v helpful,
Sam

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”