Deploying Mounted Troops Dismounted

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
stevoid
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:03 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Deploying Mounted Troops Dismounted

Post by stevoid » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:01 pm

The Deploying Mounted Troops Dismounted section says "The dismounted weapon capabilities are the same as when mounted (except that lancers are treated as offensive spearmen)."

Does this mean that dismounted cavalry who have swordsmen melee capability still cancel out against skilled swordsmen just as they do when mounted?

Steve

andy63
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Mansfield. Notts.

Post by andy63 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:04 pm

Hi Stevoid,
I am pretty sure the answer is no ,you will count as Foot swordsman,you only get that advantage when mounted.

Andy.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 23047
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Deploying Mounted Troops Dismounted

Post by rbodleyscott » Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:05 pm

stevoid wrote:The Deploying Mounted Troops Dismounted section says "The dismounted weapon capabilities are the same as when mounted (except that lancers are treated as offensive spearmen)."

Does this mean that dismounted cavalry who have swordsmen melee capability still cancel out against skilled swordsmen just as they do when mounted?

Steve
There is no such capability as "mounted swordsmen", only "swordsmen". When cavalry are dismounted, they are not mounted. They have the same capability as when mounted - i.e. "swordsmen" (not "mounted swordsmen" which doesn't exist as a capability). They are "swordsmen" and they are not mounted - you do the maths. :wink:

stevoid
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:03 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by stevoid » Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:25 pm

Perfectly reasonable :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”