Interception charge contacting non-charging enemy

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
Rekila
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: Galiza

Interception charge contacting non-charging enemy

Post by Rekila » Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:17 pm

We have a confusing case in our last HYG game. A unit of French voulgiers charges an English billmen BG . A BG of English longbowmen is in position (at 45º) to intercept, placing itself before the bill men (it pass its CMT). But by moving 2MU, they will contact a French non-charging crossbowmen unit.
a. The interception can´t be made.
b. The interception can be made but the longbowmen BG must stop just before contacting the crossbowmen.
c. The interception can be made and the longbowmen charges the crossbowmen.

We played as b.
Thanks to all in advance.

Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Interception charge contacting non-charging enemy

Post by Robert241167 » Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:45 pm

It is b) if the longbow can intercept by moving straight ahead less than 2 MU and not contact the crossbow unit.

If the crossbow unit blocks the longbow from intercepting the charge path (if to the front) or making a flank/rear intercept (from the side or rear) contact then it is a).

Rob

Rekila
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: Galiza

Re: Interception charge contacting non-charging enemy

Post by Rekila » Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:32 pm

Thanks. Yes. Even moving less than 2MU the longbowmen did still intercept the charge path.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”