Flank Charge

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
Ptolemaic
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:46 am

Flank Charge

Post by Ptolemaic » Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:43 am

Hi,

Today we were playing a game and this happened:
Player A turn:
A cataphract BG broke an enemy foot BG (B player) whose rearguard was covered by an other enemy foot bg. At the left of the second enemy foot BG was a CV bg threatening the flank of the cataphracts and who can make interception charge.

In Joint action phase the catafracts contact the second foot bg and B player decides not to make interception charge.

Player B turn:
In the next Impact phase B player charges the flank of the cataphracts (who are in contact with the second foot bg, and not resolved it's combat yet) with the CV Bg and decides that this combat must be played first.

Is it correct or the cataphract charge to the foot must be resolved first?

petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3040
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Flank Charge

Post by petedalby » Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:50 pm

That is quite a unusual situation.

A couple of comments first.
In Joint action phase the catafracts contact the second foot bg and B player decides not to make interception charge.
An intercept charge is only possible as a response to a charge - not a pursuit - so this was never an option. And the Cataphracts have the option to take a CMT not to charge into the enemy foot and stop 1MU away - Page 116 - not sure if that would help them avoid the flank charge to come?

But they have contacted the enemy foot and in the next impact phase are themselves charged in the flank. They disrupt if it is a legal flank charge.

In practice both impacts are fought at the same time. See page 98. Assuming the Cats are 2 wide and 2 deep and have been hit in the flank by just 1 enemy base, they have 3 bases in contact so will get 6 dice. They are disrupted so lose 2 dice. They must fight 3 dice vs the foot and 1 dice vs the cavalry. The enemy foot will get 4 dice and the cavalry will get 2 dice.

Once all dice have been thrown you will know which BGs have won , lost or drawn and then resolve CTs and death rolls as normal.

Hope that helps. If I've got it wrong someone will be along shortly to tell us why. :)
Pete

Ptolemaic
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:46 am

Re: Flank Charge

Post by Ptolemaic » Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:04 pm

Thanks Petedalby.
Your answer solved the question. I'd made a mistake, the second charge was in melé fase (initial pursuit) not in joint action, but it's the same answer.
Thanks again.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”