Moving through your own camp

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
brelly
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:06 pm

Moving through your own camp

Post by brelly » Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:12 pm

Hi

This question may have been asked before but the search didn't turn up anything obvious.

Can you do normal movment through:
a. your own unfortified camp?
b. Your own fortified camp?

This came up in a game I was observing at the local club and neither the players nor myself could find it in the rules. The check of the rules did turn up that you cannot rout through a fortified friendly camp nor can you evade through any type of camp. As the camp in question was fortified it was decided to rule that the friendly unit could not move through. However taking that ruling on routers then you could move through your own unfortified camp (but this would be incorrect using the evaders ruling). :?

Thank you for any responses.
Paul

Ninthplain
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:25 pm

Camp

Post by Ninthplain » Thu Sep 11, 2008 1:22 pm

I beleive that you go around your camp, not through it.

<BRIAN>

DontFearDaReaper
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:15 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by DontFearDaReaper » Thu Sep 11, 2008 5:30 pm

I beleive that you go around your camp, not through it.
Thats the way we play it at our club but I can't point to a page number in the rule book to verify it.
Dave
Great Hall Gamers
http://www.greathallgamers.org
Millennium Gaming Convention
http://www.millenniumcon.com
Drop by for a virtual visit!!!

nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger » Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:00 pm

I don't think there will be a page that will specify that - what there will be is an absence of allowed interpenetration in the general movement section I would think.

Note that routers are specifically allowed to pass through an unfortified camp - that is in the JAP section of the rules.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk

terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4189
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys » Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:58 pm

Troops are not allowed to pass through a camp. i.e. it's not in the 'allowed penetrations' rule.

The only troops who may pass through a freindly camp are broken troops, and even then only if the camp is unfortified. The is also a rule that forces evaders to avoid passing through the camp.

Claudius
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:09 am
Location: Sinuessa

Post by Claudius » Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:19 pm

Along these lines ...
Can routed troops take shelter in a fortified camp? [Camp opens the gates and says come in.]
If so, do the routed troops boost the defenses of the fortified camp?
Cheers!

Ne bibere venenum in auro!

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8717
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Sat Sep 13, 2008 3:15 am

no

thegatt
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:23 pm

Post by thegatt » Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:47 am

so an unfortified camp counts as a type of base and/or BG and not as terrain?

nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger » Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:44 am

Basically yes.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk

thegatt
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:23 pm

Post by thegatt » Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:52 pm

Interesting,
I wonder how many other rules that don't specially include/exclude camps, would therefore include camps because they are just another type of base.
Thanks,
Andrew

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”