CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm

CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by TERRYFROMSPOKANE » Wed May 13, 2020 4:24 pm

My BG is positioned such that one of its stands is in the restricted area of an enemy BG. Alternately, my BG has enemy in its rear that are within charge range of one of its stands. Should I lose a base due to enemy shooting am I allowed to remove a front rank base and "shuffle forward" with the threatened base thus eliminating the threat? I see nothing in the rules to prevent this but is seems a bit cheesy. Thanks, Terry g.

berthier
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by berthier » Wed May 13, 2020 7:29 pm

Based on the wording on p. 116, 1st bullet - you must lose the base nearest to the shooters. If that base happens to be a front rank base, then you can shuffle bases forward to replace it per 2nd column, paragraph directly under 7th bullet same section to maintain contiguity and fill vacated front rank positions. Without a picture, if the nearest base to the shooter is not a front rank base, you might be screwed in this situation.
Christopher Anders
2020-2021 GCC Coordinator
http://bloodsandsteel.blogspot.com

grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3004
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by grahambriggs » Wed May 13, 2020 9:35 pm

You must lose a base which is nearest to the shooters. Then you replace it as Christopher says. Sometimes this could work to you advantage in theory but I've never seen that happen in a game.

TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by TERRYFROMSPOKANE » Thu May 14, 2020 8:27 am

I should have been more specific. The shooting which caused the base loss was delivered by a separate enemy unit to my front.

However, let me make a more specific example.

I have a BG of 8 spears in two ranks. I am charged frontally by a BG of enemy spears. The Impact Phase results in a tie with no losses. During the Maneuver Phase a BG of enemy cavalry moves up behind my right rear at a 45 degreee angle putting only my right rear base within charge range. In the Melee Phase I lose and also lose a base. I now have to take a CT with an additional -1 for threatened flank and face the prospect of being charged in the rear in my opponent's next turn. However when I remove a front rank base I shuffle forward with the threatened base thus removing the -1 on the current CT as well as the future potential flank charge. Is that legal?

Thanks, Terry G.

berthier
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by berthier » Thu May 14, 2020 9:46 am

I think you could based on p. 116, 2nd column, 3rd sentence in the paragraph under Base Removal as it says "Non-front rank bases must be used if any are available, and can be from any part of the battle group."
Christopher Anders
2020-2021 GCC Coordinator
http://bloodsandsteel.blogspot.com

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8712
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by philqw78 » Thu May 14, 2020 9:50 am

IMO the CT minus is not removed as it is there at the time of the test.
In melee you lose a fighting base and replace it with ANY rear rank base so you can shift the one that is in charge reach. Not cheesy, good thinking
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by TERRYFROMSPOKANE » Thu May 14, 2020 10:48 pm

The way I read the rules, Phil the base removal comes before the CT because if the removal causes the BG to drop to 75% or 50% this is taken into account during the CT.

Terry G.

berthier
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 724
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Re: CONVENIENT BASE REMOVAL

Post by berthier » Fri May 15, 2020 9:36 am

In V3, Terry you are correct. Base removal comes before the cohesion test.
Christopher Anders
2020-2021 GCC Coordinator
http://bloodsandsteel.blogspot.com

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”