Bug Reports

A new story begins...
The sequel to a real classic: Panzer Corps is back!

Moderator: Panzer Corps 2 Moderators

Fulgrim_AUT
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:46 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Fulgrim_AUT » Sun Apr 26, 2020 10:59 am

SineMora wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 10:33 am
Whether Overrun has ever worked on aircraft is more than I know, but if it ever did it was almost certainly not intended. The hero has the exact same tooltip as the trait itself (which makes sense, as all he actually does is provide the Overrun trait -- normally only for tanks -- to a unit), and the limitations are the same. You could argue that the tooltip itself is lacking, as Overrun is subject to a variety of limitations that aren't explicitly stated, such as terrain and defensive fire support.
You are most certainly right that overrun was never meant to work for aircrafts - just tested it by adding a steamroller hero to an aircraft and still not triggering overrun.
Guess there are some more tool tips that may need a little overhaul (seeing a guy in a cockpit also doesn't help :wink: ):
Steamroller_Hero_Tool_Tip.jpg
Steamroller_Hero_Tool_Tip.jpg (54.01 KiB) Viewed 1164 times

muckleston
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:58 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by muckleston » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:17 am

Horseman wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 2:25 pm
muckleston wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:39 pm
Just played the Gustav line scenario with the new patch 3. I cannot seem to be able to add reserves to the non core troops. Core troops are no problem. I hope this is a bug as I have a lot of non core infantry running about at strength 1 with no way to increase the strength.
In this scenario some (maybe all?) Of the auxiliary units are base strength 1. It's set this way on purpose so you can not reinforce them.

Edit: if you check the unit info the strength will show as X/1. The X is current unit strength. The second part is "full strength"
Many thanks for reply. Seems weird you can only reinforce core troops but there is no accounting for scenario designers.

PoorOldSpike
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Plymouth, England

Re: Bug Reports

Post by PoorOldSpike » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:29 am

This is not exactly a bug, more of a "loose end", namely the game calls this baby a 'Fiat G.50', but I swear it's a 'Reggiane Re.2000', am i right or am i right?-

Image
Last edited by PoorOldSpike on Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Tanks were invented to make war more fun

Fulgrim_AUT
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:46 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Fulgrim_AUT » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:29 am

Not necessarily a mistake, but probably not intended this way?

Out of curiosity - due to the overrun/steamroller thing with aircrafts - I found that a unit which has acquired the steamroller award, thanks to an overrun hero, keeps the award even if the hero is diverted to another unit.
Therefore making the overrun hero obsolete for that unit and opening up the opportunity to let him "teach" steamroller to the next one.
AT_Steamroller_without Overrun.jpg
AT_Steamroller_without Overrun.jpg (76.96 KiB) Viewed 1148 times

RandomAttack
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:19 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by RandomAttack » Sun Apr 26, 2020 4:54 pm

The option to disable "Create Screenshots for Saved Games" doesn't work. You can un-tick the box, but it always reverts back to being ticked. Given that it takes about 5MB per pic, and that I have a lot of save games at the moment, it's a lot of memory.

Akkula
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1506
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:14 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Akkula » Mon Apr 27, 2020 4:05 am

Akkula wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:42 am
I noticed that since the last patch, in random scenarios, the cities do not give prestige anymore after their capture.
Is this intended? :? . I found VERY hard to play them as the prestige at the start is low.

Regards,
Akkula.
I found the prestige reward only works in FFA. In all the rest of the game modes it doesnt :? . I am pretty sure it worked before the last patch.
Also, I didn't notice before, but in Defence mode the attacker AI units have a LOT of experience and overstrength :shock:
Eastern Front: Soviet Storm (v1.96): http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=50342
Modern Conflicts (v1.5): http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=72062

Catacol
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Catacol » Mon Apr 27, 2020 6:05 am

Server down again. This is becoming an annoying habit.

Snak3y3
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 11:06 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Snak3y3 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:47 am

In a PBEM game i cant end turn, after clicking on hourglass or using Alt-E nothing happens. Waiting for 20+ mins isnt helping, what could be the Problem?

Lokesz
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:39 pm

Looks like hills

Post by Lokesz » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:15 am

Sometimes you get to see different terrain then is indicated by the description.. This example is from the Crusader scenario but I have seen it before. The selected 15cm sFH has sunk in the hills. The facility on the left side of the image (near the Italian flag) is not for sky jumping but it is an airfield combined with hills. In both cases it only looks like hills. Mouse-over indicates 'desert' and 'dust airfield'.

This effect can be confusing when I try to avoid to enter hills with tanks or expect some cover for my infantery.


edit: Corrected name of scenario

Image

Catacol
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Catacol » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:51 pm

1. Heroes set in the scenario parameters to do arrive in online multiplayer.
2. The mini map is bugged. Reinforcements purchased by an opponent show up as dots on the mini map in online multiplayer. If the game is saved and reloaded at a later date the dots have disappeared, but any units bought in that play session again show as dots on the mini map. Makes fog of war distinctly less "foggy"!
3. Traits can be activated in online multiplayer scenarios, but in truth many are appropriate to a campaign and not to a single online multiplayer scenario. I think these should be reworked for individual scenario battles.
4. The minimap has shading graphics for forest, mountains, high mountains etc - but nothing for hills. It would be a better tool if hills also had some kind of shading on it.

Playing every day - will post more as I find them.

Catacol
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Catacol » Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:13 am

FFS - this isn't funny. The server is down yet again. That's the third time in a week. Can someone tell me what the deal is here? Have I bought a game I cannot play properly online because the server constantly needs to reboot or whatever it is doing?? I'm up at 0600 to play sessions, and no joy. And without a direct TCP option I'm totally reliant on the damned Slitherine server. Very poor.

Magic1111
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 829
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Magic1111 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:16 am

If a medal received one of my units during the AI phase, it is better to stop the game because the text hides the battlefield. You also don't have time to read this.

Therefore I see this as a mistake or a need for improvement.

Cortilein
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:11 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Cortilein » Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:20 pm

Not really a bug - but rather a suggestion: the Jeep/GAZ-67-mounted rocket launcher unit of the Soviet faction (aka "BM-8-8") has the "MachineGun" trait, resulting in a 1.5x rapid fire bonus. This unit is in the Artillery class, with rather high (soft) attack values due to firing rocket projectiles. While that vehicle might have had a machine gun proper as defensive armament (did it?), the bonus of the "MachineGun" trait would strengthen it even more, apart from being a fast-moving (albeit with less-launcher tubes) and cheaper alternative to the truck-mounted Katyusha launchers. I don't think this is justified - IMHO the emphasis for buying the BM-8-8 vs. the BM-13 or BM-31 Katyusha variants should be fast movement and/or even an evasive (trait, "hint-hint") capability.

Fulgrim_AUT
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 3:46 pm

Split Units

Post by Fulgrim_AUT » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:13 pm

Hi there - again not sure if this counts as a bug:
If one half of a split unit acquires kills or other points towards an award (e.g. overrun or support), those points might get lost when merging with the other half later on.
When I tried to reproduce it I found that it's always the moving half that loses the points -> Moving half of a tank had acquired 1 overrun point and 4 soft kills - all gone after merging with it's other half.

SineMora
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Bug Reports

Post by SineMora » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:34 pm

Cortilein wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:20 pm
Not really a bug - but rather a suggestion: the Jeep/GAZ-67-mounted rocket launcher unit of the Soviet faction (aka "BM-8-8") has the "MachineGun" trait, resulting in a 1.5x rapid fire bonus. This unit is in the Artillery class, with rather high (soft) attack values due to firing rocket projectiles. While that vehicle might have had a machine gun proper as defensive armament (did it?), the bonus of the "MachineGun" trait would strengthen it even more, apart from being a fast-moving (albeit with less-launcher tubes) and cheaper alternative to the truck-mounted Katyusha launchers. I don't think this is justified - IMHO the emphasis for buying the BM-8-8 vs. the BM-13 or BM-31 Katyusha variants should be fast movement and/or even an evasive (trait, "hint-hint") capability.
All rocket-based artillery has the Rapid Fire trait (either 1.5X or 2X), so that's clearly an intended mechanic. They gain firepower at the expense of ammo.
Mildly pretentious Swede. Goes by Path on most platforms, including Steam.
http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=596&t=98034 -- Generalissimus AAR (no Trophies / Heroes)

Cortilein
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:11 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Cortilein » Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:28 pm

Thanks, SineMora - obviously I missed that one... :oops:

Catacol
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:09 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Catacol » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:41 am

Three out of my last four online multiplayer games have been spoiled because the save game file crashes on loading. This has happened whether the save has happened at my end or at my opponent's end. It is an unreal engine crash. And because there are no local backups or a trail of local/online saves to go back to we are reliant on the single save file on the server. When that wont load - the game is gone. Many hours of play lost to this one.

Horseman
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1542
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:27 pm

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Horseman » Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:46 pm

Anyone else notice that Volkssturm don't use an extra unit slot when given half tracks?

Not sure if its a big or working as intended.

Edit: Ignore this, it's not a bug. I had infantry general trait, so at 3 slot cost (with a HT) the Volkssturm get a 1 slot discount.

NOT A BUG NOT A BUG NOT A BUG
Last edited by Horseman on Sat May 02, 2020 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rood
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 251
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Rood » Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:37 am

Magic1111 wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:16 am
If a medal received one of my units during the AI phase, it is better to stop the game because the text hides the battlefield. You also don't have time to read this.

Therefore I see this as a mistake or a need for improvement.
Yes, this is really annoying. Better to show this after AI has completed it's turn, maybe with a button so that when clicked you jump to the unit which received the reward. And then obviously the UI should be changed since multiple units could receive a medal in the same turn.

However I regard as low priority.

Akkula
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1506
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:14 am

Re: Bug Reports

Post by Akkula » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:34 pm

Magic1111 wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:16 am
If a medal received one of my units during the AI phase, it is better to stop the game because the text hides the battlefield. You also don't have time to read this.

Therefore I see this as a mistake or a need for improvement.
Agree with this. Not a bug, but an improvement opportunity.
Eastern Front: Soviet Storm (v1.96): http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=50342
Modern Conflicts (v1.5): http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=147&t=72062

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps 2”