Tides of Conquest campaign tool - recruiting for ongoing Year 500 campaign

Field of Glory II is a turn-based tactical game set during the Rise of Rome from 280 BC to 25 BC.
Standard Nerd
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Standard Nerd » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:27 pm

Attached is a picture of my desktop with the FoG Campaign 0.401 folder on it. Is this where it is supposed to be for setup to work?
Attachments
ToC_Setup_Error2.png
ToC_Setup_Error2.png (407.33 KiB) Viewed 1640 times

Nijis
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Nijis » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:36 pm

Hmm... You unzipped the archive correctly before hitting setup.

Okay, one more possibility...

There are two separate links. One is "overwrite," which is useful if you have a version already installed. (It overwrites that version.) However, it has not worked for some people in the past. The other is "non-overwrite," which would mean that you need to uninstall any previous versions before installing it, which for you should not be an issue.

If you first tried the ordinary file, try the non-overwrite one. Sorry about this...

Non-overwrite
http://www.mediafire.com/file/c912l6927 ... rwrite.rar

Overwrite (if the non-overwrite doesn't work)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/n3sndbe3a ... +0.401.rar

SteveD64
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:46 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by SteveD64 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:55 am

I believe the same error happened to me. Here's what I posted a while back -
So, as an fyi, it turned out to be something with the Digital Signature (it wasn't trusted). After I dealt with that, I went in to each application, right clicked on it, then checked the box "unblock". That did it. Never had that happen before and the fact that I fixed it should be considered some sort of miracle.

Standard Nerd
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Standard Nerd » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:54 am

How did you get it to trust the digital signature? Also I'm not seeing a box to unblock anything. Thank you for your advice! I need all the help I can get rn
Attachments
ToC_Setup_Error3.png
ToC_Setup_Error3.png (466.94 KiB) Viewed 1607 times

Standard Nerd
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Standard Nerd » Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:12 am

Nijis wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:36 pm
Hmm... You unzipped the archive correctly before hitting setup.

Okay, one more possibility...

There are two separate links. One is "overwrite," which is useful if you have a version already installed. (It overwrites that version.) However, it has not worked for some people in the past. The other is "non-overwrite," which would mean that you need to uninstall any previous versions before installing it, which for you should not be an issue.

If you first tried the ordinary file, try the non-overwrite one. Sorry about this...

Non-overwrite
http://www.mediafire.com/file/c912l6927 ... rwrite.rar

Overwrite (if the non-overwrite doesn't work)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/n3sndbe3a ... +0.401.rar
Still no luck with these files. I'm still having the same issue I initially reported. Are there any files besides the files attached to this thread that I need to be able to run the ToC tool? Is there any more information about my problem I can give you?

SteveD64
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:46 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by SteveD64 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:31 pm

When you click on View Certificate does it give you the option to Install Certificate? I'm having a devil of a time trying to remember how I did all this.

Nijis
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Nijis » Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:16 pm

Is there any more information about my problem I can give you?
I think it probably is an issue related to the security system flagging it as potential malware, either Windows' organic protections or an antivirus. I can look into this a bit further.

Standard Nerd
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Standard Nerd » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:39 am

SteveD64 wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:31 pm
When you click on View Certificate does it give you the option to Install Certificate? I'm having a devil of a time trying to remember how I did all this.
It does! I went through the steps of installing the certificate but I don't know what the certificate does, how to use it, and where on my computer the certificate can be found.

Tasi
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Tasi » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:50 am

Hi Nijis!

The app you've built looks like the perfect tool to some context around my FoG battles.

I'm encountering an issue where I cannot save a campaign, however. I hit the Load/Save button while on the map. This then take me to the home page. I hit "save current game", and then the app pauses for a second before crashing.

My home page contains no text following the "All files saved to" line (see attachment). I'm wondering if there is no save location and this might be causing the problem? If so, is there any way I can fix it?

I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling a couple of times, to no avail.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Nijis
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Nijis » Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:59 pm

Hi Tasi!

Sorry about that. If you're playing version 0.4 or later, the "All files saved to" does not yield a string, even though it should.


It should save to a folder like this, where "path" is the name of the user logged in. (Ie, "Steve" in my case)
"C:\\Users\\" + path + "\\Documents\\SavedGames\\FoG_Campaigns\\Player0"

I think Windows 10 will create that path automatically, but some earlier versions will not.

Tasi
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Tasi » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:02 am

Thanks for the reply.

I'm running Windows 10, but I don't think the path has been created (the Saved Games folder is entirely empty).

Nijis
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Nijis » Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:30 am

Hmm...

You could try creating the two missing folders manually (FoG_Campaigns, then inside that Player0). No guarantees, but it might work.

Tasi
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Tasi » Thu Nov 15, 2018 11:26 am

Yeah, I've given that a go, but it didn't seem to help unfortunately.

If there isn't an obvious fix, I'll just keep my out for the next version and try again then, I guess. Thanks for trying to help!

Nijis
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Nijis » Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:32 pm

Sorry about that! Unfortunately I can't think of anything else. Hopefully the next version will work. I'll have a closer look at the installation and saving process to see if I can do anything differently.

Standard Nerd
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Standard Nerd » Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:56 am

Nijis wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:16 pm
Is there any more information about my problem I can give you?
I think it probably is an issue related to the security system flagging it as potential malware, either Windows' organic protections or an antivirus. I can look into this a bit further.
Any luck finding anything on your end? I'm really at a loss here. I've never had a computer give me this kind of error with an application before. I've uninstalled and re-installed, tried both the linked files you gave me, on new installs.

Nijis
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:33 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Nijis » Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:30 pm

Sorry that took so long...

I found this list of suggestions related to that error.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 0498b1755b

Does the PC have other user accounts on it? That might be an issue when it tries to sort out the filename save path.

You might also try right-clicking and "running as administrator."

Some of the forums suggests that Visual Studio may be designating the app as a ClickOnce program, which comes with its own set of finickiness.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ClickOnce

One thing I noticed from your screenshot - the small box and checkmark by the "Setup" icon. I just double-click directly on the icon. Is there some intermediate program that processes installations?

Finally, do you get the identical error when you use the "non-overwrite" version?

...

The basic problem that both you and Tasi seem to be having is that I don't fully understand all the choices and options in the "publish" part of Visual Studio -- ie, when I turn my code solution into an app. I found by trial and error a selection that seems to work for most people. But, I need to look into it further properly for the next update, v0.50.

hvddrift
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:36 am

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by hvddrift » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:15 am

Tasi wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:50 am
Hi Nijis!

The app you've built looks like the perfect tool to some context around my FoG battles.

I'm encountering an issue where I cannot save a campaign, however. I hit the Load/Save button while on the map. This then take me to the home page. I hit "save current game", and then the app pauses for a second before crashing.

My home page contains no text following the "All files saved to" line (see attachment). I'm wondering if there is no save location and this might be causing the problem? If so, is there any way I can fix it?

I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling a couple of times, to no avail.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Just for reference, I have exactly the same problem.


Image

hvddrift
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:36 am

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by hvddrift » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:25 am

Interesting fix...

I reread this section from page 1
You'll need some version of WinRar. First you extract the file into a folder, which is a WinRar option if you right-click on the package. You should see three icons - Application Files, FoG Campaigns, and setup.exe.
Hit "setup.exe." Because this is a new program, your antivirus might object, though if you scan the file it will probably declare it harmless. Once the game sets up (hit "install") you should get to the load/start screen. You will see a list of savegame slots then, in the upper-left corner, two "start scenario" links.
I had just used 7zip rather than winrar. My setup would just open, it never installed. I downloaded Winrar and followed the above an it now works

Image

Standard Nerd
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:49 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by Standard Nerd » Sat Nov 17, 2018 8:11 pm

I've been using WinRaR, but I haven't gotten as far as you guys. I can't get the screen you showed to come up even. The UAC does come up and ask me if I want the file to make changes to my system every time I try to run it, whether I run as administrator or not.

SteveD64
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:46 pm

Re: Tides of Conquest campaign tool (SP/MP, currently v0.4 with scenarios for all DLCs)

Post by SteveD64 » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:48 pm

Standard Nerd - check and see if the "BEDROOM_ PC/Steve" certificate is in the Trusted Root Certificate spot or perhaps it's in the Untrusted Certificate spot. This will get you there-

To view certificates in the MMC snap-in
Open a Command Prompt window (in WIN10 you can also type MMC in the search bar - lower left hand side)
Type mmc and press the ENTER key. Note that to view certificates in the local machine store, you must be in the Administrator role.
On the File menu, click Add/Remove Snap In.
Click Add.
In the Add Standalone Snap-in dialog box, select Certificates.
Click Add.
In the Certificates snap-in dialog box, select Computer account and click Next.
In the Select Computer dialog box, click Finish.
In the Add Standalone Snap-in dialog box, click Close.
On the Add/Remove Snap-in dialog box, click OK.
In the Console Root window, click Certificates (Local Computer) to view the certificate stores for the computer.

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II”