No one has asked for anything remotely like that at all though. We are simply asking that you close a loophole that makes no logical sense and it has zero benefit to gameplay. Lundendorf and I brought it up way back in a previous beta and we let the issue drop when you declared that it was working as intended even though we both felt it was plain wrong because we thought it would be an extreme edge case. Now it is clear that it is not just us who think a loophole like this shouldn't go unaddressed nor is it the case that it is an exceptional edge case as it is showing up in multiple games in a single tournament. As Cunningcairn succinctly put it, by not closing this loophole, you are inviting the very thing you don't want to have in your game. Snuggles could have trapped the unit in question if he had remembered the game's "arcane" geometry rules.rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:57 pmOne thing I will say is that whatever changes we might consider to the ZOC rules, the rules absolutely will not be changed to allow a unit to attack the flank or rear of an enemy unit directly to its front while in the primary ZOC of another enemy unit.
This is because the original primary purpose of ZOCs in this game was to facilitate flank protection. And because it is ludicrous that a unit would ignore an actual immediate threat to attack a non-threatening target of opportunity.
Getting stuck and not being able to move because of multiple ZoCs make sense within the framework of existing ZoC rules. Only allowing a charge to a frontal Zocing unit makes sense within the current framework. Suddenly allowing a unit to ignore ZoC rules arbitrarily makes no sense and absolutely does not fit in the existing framework of ZoC rules.
This is something I feel that is totally different than closing the loophole aforementioned. In my opinion, changing this simply exchanges one set of geometry rules for another.rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:57 pmHowever, we might be able to do something about allowing a unit to attack the front of a non-ZOCing unit, even when in the ZOC1 of another enemy unit, provided that a subsequent charge by that enemy unit from its current position would not contact its flank or rear.