HYW English 800pt

A forum for any questions relating to army design, the army companion books and upcoming lists.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

lonehorseman
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1

HYW English 800pt

Post by lonehorseman » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:53 am

Ok so on the advice of many gamers I have decided to stay clear of the Medieval and Later Welsh and instead to use HYW English.

This is my first attempt at a list:

Henry V 1x IC
Duke of York and Lord Camoys 2x TC

Dismounted English Men-at-Arms 3x4 HF, Armoured, Average, Drilled, Heavy Weapon
Welsh and English Longbowmen 6x8 MF, Protected, Average, Drilled, Longbow, Swordsmen
Stakes to cover half of each Longbow BG 6x4 PF
Irish Kerns (Point Filler) 1x4 LF, Unprotected, Average, Undrilled, Javelin, Light Spear

793AP 10 BGs PBI: +2

Idea was to do the whole

MFHFMF MFHFMF MFHFMF
TC IC TC

deployment described in the book (hopefully this comes out right). The Kerns are going to guard the camp

Thoughts?

Cheers
D
15mm: Painted: Late Republican Roman
Medieval Welsh
WIP: Ivan the Terrible's Russians
Later Ottoman Turkish

lonehorseman

Post by lonehorseman » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:59 am

Nope my digram failed bigtime. Its meant to be a MFHFMF battleline with a general behind the HF. then the same thing another 2 times, IC is in centrel Battleline
Medieval Welsh
Later Ottoman Turkish

madmike111
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad

Post by madmike111 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:15 am

I would change the IC for 2 TC, with that many longbows you are going to out shoot everyone so really don't need the IC benefit for cohesion testing.

Also could consider fielding the HF in a column placed behind the MF, with half a base split behind 2 BG of MF. That way you get the rear support, also the HF is allowed to move through the MF so can move forward and exploit gaps in the enemy line.

Dareun
Corporal - Strongpoint