Issue with Rebellions

Field of Glory: Empires is a grand strategy game in which you will have to move in an intricate and living tapestry of nations and tribes, each one with their distinctive culture.
Set in Europe and in the Mediterranean Area during the Classical Age, experience what truly means to manage an Empire.

Moderator: Pocus

devoncop
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1270
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:46 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by devoncop » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:08 am

loki100 wrote:
Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:44 am
FlashXAron_slith wrote:
Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:00 am
Now I have read that it will ALWAYS HAPPEN, when you play Rome as a Republic and have single regions , which have that support value BELOW 75 ... even if the revolt risk is 3%
...
that is one of the worst game design decision in that game, no it is stupid , as when the rebellion occurred they even have as many or more Legions as you , full equipped ...
that would have been over 15 000 gp amd lot of resources , a JOKE ...

maybe let some Aliens land , that would fit ... or write a message "Hey idiotic player , take that !"
So as you see that makes me angry, when you play 20h and overcome different problems, which makes sense and that such thing ...

Please devs change that it is ridiculous
Thanks
Seems a good simulation of Rome in the first century BCE to me. Solution is rot carefully plan your transition to Empire. Try not to do it when you have a lot of low loyalty regions due to recent gains. Sell as many slaves as you can .... you'll get the pop back later and go on a 15-20 turn party. Culture yourself.

You then have a good chance to get to Glorious asap
Indeed so.

Southern Hunter
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 12:12 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by Southern Hunter » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:32 am

I have a similar problem. As Carthage, I have 36 population in Tunis, 9 citizens and 27 slaves. I just cant find a way to disperse them away from the capital. Very occasionally I get the opportunity to make a 'decision', but 1. I am not really sure it works and 2. If it does work, it doesn't do much. I only have 1 slave market (because in general I don't want slaves), but I guess this means I don't really have a way to manage them when I get them. Should I make a ton more slave markets as part of my anti-slavery crusade?

loki100
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 982
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by loki100 » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:38 am

Yes, you need more. It both increases how often the sell decision comes up and how effective.

Swap your message priority to average and you'll see this. You can also buy lots of nice mercenaries with the money

With your current pop ratio, Tunes is going to have low loyalty and high revolt chance.

I don't like having slaves so often sell every time, in the end you still get high pop regions but they are much more loyal, esp if you also encourage ethnic assimilation

rs2excelsior
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:51 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by rs2excelsior » Sun Jul 14, 2019 6:40 pm

I agree that the civil wars need to get tuned down a bit as Rome (or that both OP and I have just had bad luck with them). Had a ~20-30 year civil war where two usurper factions rose up and Tarentum rebelled, finally got them under control (and the two other slave revolts that popped up in the meantime), was getting ready to finally invade Illyria to get my objective region that's just been sitting over there for decades and to attack Syracuse who had been my ally but somehow managed to snatch the entirety of southern Italy while "helping" in the civil war and... another rebellion. Smaller this time, to be fair, but again two usurpers and another nation breaking free (Senones, breaking off in a region I'm pretty sure they never controlled). This was about 5-10 years later. So I am quite concerned that the rest of my run is going to be nonstop civil wars and the Roman Empire will be unable to expand outside of Italy.

Perhaps I should have stayed a republic for longer by just manually reducing culture production... I progressed pretty rapidly due to staying near the top of the culture list and the sheer number of objectives I got.

One thing I've noticed is that these usurper factions seem to each get a Senate building, and it doesn't seem to go away afterwards. So I have like four senate buildings floating around in various places in Italy now.

Batman6794
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:42 pm

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by Batman6794 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:38 pm

Pocus wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:52 am
That's strange, I don't see how you can lose a region if you don't lose the city and will the battle what's more. Either a misunderstanding or a bug.
If you're not meant to lose a region after winning the battle, it is a fairly prevalent bug. Happens to me a lot. I don't know if toppins got you an example or not, so here is my most recent turn just in case.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/15oDStV ... sp=sharing

If there is a file sharing method you prefer to google drive please let me know.

Straticus
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:49 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by Straticus » Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:14 am

I set up slave markets N-E-W-S of Rome and I still got inundated with slaves in my capital. Executed dozens of 'Sell Slaves' events with absolutley no real impact.

Would appreciate if someone could add a feature that doesn't require manipulation of the capital location to move slaves out of your capital. I mean seriously, I'm saying let's "move 'em out - yeah rawhide"

I did the deconstruct of the Senate and received messages it had been deconstructed and workers moved to another job - yet it's still there as if nothing had happened.

Was anyone successful with this for Rome? And how exactly do you reconstruct the Senate in another region?

SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2184
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by SirGarnet » Sun Jul 28, 2019 5:56 am

Could someone put together a checklist and some narrative as a guide to slaves and related events. "A Crassus Guide to Slavery"as it exissts in game.


Another QOL item would be more tooltips and side guides such as one on message settings and alerts. and terrain attributes such as food and forage.

MoLAoS
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:47 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by MoLAoS » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:28 am

This all sounds pretty crazy to me. You definitely stop getting slaves when you have markets up. The losing a region even if you win the battle thing is real, though, and hopefully it gets patched. Also sell slaves totally works, but you never sell more than 25% or 10 whichever is lower. The moving slaves decision seems pointless to me. Also you want around 20 slaves in Rome but probably no more. Unless you just have really bad loyalty penalties from a leader or something.

rhewett01
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by rhewett01 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Batman6794 wrote:
Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:38 pm
Pocus wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:52 am
That's strange, I don't see how you can lose a region if you don't lose the city and will the battle what's more. Either a misunderstanding or a bug.
If you're not meant to lose a region after winning the battle, it is a fairly prevalent bug. Happens to me a lot. I don't know if toppins got you an example or not, so here is my most recent turn just in case.
Agree with this. Playing as Brigantia I've just had a rebellion where my army in the province defeated the rebels but when the result was imported the army moved away to an adjacent area and the rebels took control of the province where the rebellion occurred. This immediately transformed into the Britonae. Happily they declared war on me (1 province against the whole of the rest of Britain) almost immediately so I recovered it pretty quickly and it wasn't my capital so no lasting harm done.

thierry2015
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 9:34 pm

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by thierry2015 » Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:55 pm

question for developers

the garrison can counterbalance how much unrest?

a fixed value or a %
?
:D

Aetius3
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:46 am

Re: Issue with Rebellions

Post by Aetius3 » Tue Jul 30, 2019 7:55 am

rhewett01 wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:27 pm
Agree with this. Playing as Brigantia I've just had a rebellion where my army in the province defeated the rebels but when the result was imported the army moved away to an adjacent area and the rebels took control of the province where the rebellion occurred. This immediately transformed into the Britonae. Happily they declared war on me (1 province against the whole of the rest of Britain) almost immediately so I recovered it pretty quickly and it wasn't my capital so no lasting harm done.
I've had both happen as the Picts. I had A Brigantian rebellion in Brigantia appear underneath a 150-strength army, take the province and my capital, then lose the fight. My army then immediately retook Brigantia, and what was left of their army retreated to another region of mine, which they promptly took from me.

This was part of a rapid-fire chain of rebellions and civil wars apparently triggered by three leadership changes in less than ten years. I went from a reasonably stable 21 regions / 4 provinces to just three regions at the end. My home provinces went independent, Hiberni seceded en masse, the Brigantians and the Britonae popped up twice, and the Parisii (who I had never seen before) popped up twice as well. And to top it off, I also had a region taken by independent pirates (!!). It was a bit much, particularly the part where I suddenly didn't own a region that was friendly enough for me to rest my troops and regain health.

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory: Empires”