A Question and Answer Thread

Field of Glory: Empires is a grand strategy game in which you will have to move in an intricate and living tapestry of nations and tribes, each one with their distinctive culture.
Set in Europe and in the Mediterranean Area during the Classical Age, experience what truly means to manage an Empire.

Moderator: Pocus

Post Reply
SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2184
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

A Question and Answer Thread

Post by SirGarnet » Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:41 am

QUESTION 1 How to invade amphibiously? The manual says

" Combining Land and Naval Units Note that you can build a stack that combines both types. This will ensure the warships escort your army and protect them in the case of naval combat (10.7.7). Obviously such a stack is limited in only being able to move to water or marsh regions or ports. "troops being transported by sea can debark in ports and marshes." Can troop transports in their own stack troops land anywhere on a coast?

Question 2: SEARCH: Can the right side search glass search for locations/sources of trade goods and resources or and anything else other than region locations?

3. Prov Unit Costs:what is the best way now to count numbers and incremental costs of provincial units?

Ezekiel
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:23 pm

Re: A Question and Answer Thread

Post by Ezekiel » Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:07 am

You would probably get a faster response on this type of topic in the main forum.

1) Yes, you can land anywhere but the movement cost of landing varies with the terrain.

2) No, but the trade tab in the ledger basically has that functionality once you learn to use it.

3) I wish there was a good answer for this. But I haven’t found one.

Morbio
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1885
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Wokingham, UK

Re: A Question and Answer Thread

Post by Morbio » Tue Aug 06, 2019 10:17 am

If you combine the units into one stack then you lose a leader and potentially lose troop experience temporarily too if combined with a new leader, so if you disembark straight into a battle (often the case with islands) then you may be fighting without a leader and reduced experience :( I'm trying to rationalise as the troops are suffering a bit of sea-sickness and the difficulties of an amphibious landing. However, having said that, is this a design flaw?

loki100
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: A Question and Answer Thread

Post by loki100 » Tue Aug 06, 2019 10:26 am

no, but it calls for some care.

One way to escort is to combine ships + units, move them, but they can only land together if its a friendly held harbour or a coastal marsh. So to invade most regions, you have to split up the stack at sea, then invade with the land units. Now if you move out the ships from the stack then the land units remain under the original leader but if you remove the land units from the stack then the land units get the new leader malus.

Now I don't like the combined stack approach but you can still close escort.

The way the movement phase works is that every unit expends 1MP, then every unit its 2nd MP etc etc. So if 2 stacks either start together or both enter the same region as their first move, they will move together till the 'slowest' expends its last MP.
In general I find this works far better as (a) both stacks keep their commander and (b) you can invade on arrival rather than wait a turn while you shuffle your stacks.

In effect more MP is not so much faster, as the ability to move further.

loki100
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: A Question and Answer Thread

Post by loki100 » Tue Aug 06, 2019 10:27 am

SirGarnet wrote:
Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:41 am
...

3. Prov Unit Costs:what is the best way now to count numbers and incremental costs of provincial units?
when you raise a new unit of this type the tooltip will tell you the cost for that one and the incremental cost that will be applied to the next one

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory: Empires”