Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracised?

A forum for discussion of anything to do with modelling for Field of Glory, including figures, painting, basing, terrain, buildings, uniform research and more.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
dugroz
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA USA
Contact:

Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracised?

Post by dugroz » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:40 pm

So I have many Knights/Cavalry already based individually on 25mm wide x 50mm deep bases for Warhammer (although the same base size applies to other game systems, too).

I started casually playing FoG about 8-12 months ago, and so far have used this system to accommodate "dual compatibility;" that is, I want to be able to use the models both in Warhammer and FoG without permanently affixing them to a 60x40mm base.

I cut out homemade bases -- for infantry, 60mm wide x 25mm deep; for cavalry, 60mm wide x 50mm deep. This works great because I can just "plop" individually based figs. on the proper base as needed. Obviously for solo play or play against a friend at home, no one is going to care. I may also just go 60x60 with cavalry eventually, as you can easily get pre-cut bases in that size.

My question is this: how do other players feel about this? If I were to go to a tournament or club to play a stranger, does the majority accommodate this? Or will I be shunned for using a slightly deeper base. I know the rules say that 60x40 is the standard, but it can be modified upon mutual agreement.

I just don't want to spend all my time and money doing things up like this if no one will play a game against me. Of course, the big problem with FoG bases is that your standard Warhammer-type individually based cavalry won't fit (too deep). Thoughts? :oops:
See my blog at:
www.wargamesreview.blogspot.com

Battle Reports, Videos, Reviews of FoG and Warhammer.

dugroz
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA USA
Contact:

Re

Post by dugroz » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:16 pm

I changed the title of this thread because I think it was confusing -- no one was responding.

Basically, do you use a non-standard base depth? Does this cause anger or acceptance? What is the general sentiment? :?:
See my blog at:
www.wargamesreview.blogspot.com

Battle Reports, Videos, Reviews of FoG and Warhammer.

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8696
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:28 pm

The rules themselves say you can use non-standard depths. It is only frontage that causes a problem as combats must align. And you have a fix for that so it wouldn't bother me, or I assume most players.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

Strategos69
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1375
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Alcalá de Henares, Spain

Post by Strategos69 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:40 pm

I am of the same opinion. In fact my warbands were 20mm depth and now they changed to 15mm. In many cases that is generally accepted.

Delbruck
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 9:51 pm
Location: USA

Post by Delbruck » Tue Jan 24, 2012 5:27 pm

When I get back to doing 28mm I plan on using 60x50 for cavalry. 40mm is just too short. I am also thinking of using 60x25 for all foot. Normally 4 figures for HF, 3 for MF, and 2 for LF.

Spartacus
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:36 pm
Location: Villefranche De Rouergue

Post by Spartacus » Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:55 pm

I also have to use 50mm deep bases for 28mm Horse. Modern figures just dont fit on 40mm.
--Terry--

Strategos69
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1375
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 10:53 pm
Location: Alcalá de Henares, Spain

Post by Strategos69 » Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:23 pm

Spartacus wrote:I also have to use 50mm deep bases for 28mm Horse. Modern figures just dont fit on 40mm.
For 15mm it is the same. The new 18mm do not fit very well in 15mm deep bases and I am considering basing them in 20mm.

dugroz
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA USA
Contact:

Re: Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracise

Post by dugroz » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:17 pm

So, I'm thinking of buying the pre-cut steel bases from wargameaccessories.com -- I just can't seem to get accurate enough with home-made bases despite my best efforts. Besides, I like the idea of having everything magnetized.

They don't make a 60mm x 50mm base, so I really am thinking of just going with a 60mm x 60mm square for anything mounted. Then would just go 60mm x 30mm for infantry to keep it a nice "half" of a mounted base (leader fits in nicely).

What do you think of that?

:lol:
See my blog at:
www.wargamesreview.blogspot.com

Battle Reports, Videos, Reviews of FoG and Warhammer.

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracise

Post by ravenflight » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:59 pm

I'm building a 25mm army as we type, and I'm going to use 60x30mm bases for my HF Men at Arms, 3 to a base.

I have one friend who swears that I'm going to cause confusion etc, but I think for the most part I wont. I'll be very clear, AND the rules allow for it.

With something like Knights I think it would be clearer than HF/MF. I mean, there IS probably (somewhere out there) MF Armoured or Heavily Armoured Heavy Weapon, so there is a chance of confusion, but Light Horse, Heavily Armoured, Knightly Lance isn't going to happen :).

Jhykronos
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracise

Post by Jhykronos » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:15 am

dugroz wrote:So, I'm thinking of buying the pre-cut steel bases from wargameaccessories.com -- I just can't seem to get accurate enough with home-made bases despite my best efforts. Besides, I like the idea of having everything magnetized.

They don't make a 60mm x 50mm base, so I really am thinking of just going with a 60mm x 60mm square for anything mounted. Then would just go 60mm x 30mm for infantry to keep it a nice "half" of a mounted base (leader fits in nicely).

What do you think of that?

:lol:
Just be careful on the widths. Wargame Accessories is usually pretty accurate, but every once in a while I come upon a pack that is a significant fraction of a mm too thin... for a single base no big deal, but across a battleline it adds up.

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracise

Post by ravenflight » Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:20 am

Jhykronos wrote:ust be careful on the widths. Wargame Accessories is usually pretty accurate, but every once in a while I come upon a pack that is a significant fraction of a mm too thin... for a single base no big deal, but across a battleline it adds up.
Yeah, I have one of those 3' builders rulers that I've marked off in 40mm intervals, but by the time I have 2BG's beside one another I'm about 10mm into the red :)

Legionbuilder
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 11:01 pm
Location: Wheaton - Suburb of Chicago

Re: Can I use a 60x50mm Cavalry base without being Ostracise

Post by Legionbuilder » Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:10 am

I find that most FOG gamers at the tournaments are great people and will not beat you up too bad

I think the thin Litko bases might be a better bet for accuracy - and they are only 1mm thick - I go to a local metal shop that cuts ductwork for my company and they cut metal to the correct size for me - but it is very hard to accuratly cut metal with "home owner" type tools.

Post Reply

Return to “Modelling”