Speed of turns

Moderator: Pocus

Post Reply
Private-Pike
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 6:45 pm

Speed of turns

Post by Private-Pike » Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:19 pm

Hi, been playing the game about a week now. Good game, im liking it. :D

Question for the devs.

Can the game, or is the game, capable of using multi CPU’s ?

I have a nice PC, and game runs fine, but… as the game progresses turns take longer. Obviously there is a lot of processing going on. I checked task manager and left it open on 2nd screen while playing the game on the other. The game appears to only use one logical processor. I have an 8 core CPU so task manager shows 16 Logical processors. Most of the time 15 of these processors appear to be doing not very much, when I end turn one of these processors seems to be doing all of the work.

So is the game making use of all this CPU power – or not ?

Thanks.

Pocus
Ageod
Ageod
Posts: 2654
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: Speed of turns

Post by Pocus » Mon Sep 14, 2020 8:48 am

No, it requires a different approach to building a program, very complex and prone to error. That's one of the big hurdle preventing most processors to be used in so many games.
AGEOD Team - Makers of Empires, ACW2, WON, EAW, PON, AJE, RUS, ROP, WIA.

Private-Pike
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 6:45 pm

Re: Speed of turns

Post by Private-Pike » Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:11 pm

Hi Pocus.
Thanks for the honest answer.
I just finished my first proper game, came 5th playing Britonnae, which I didn’t think was too bad.
Anyway, any tips on how I can speed the game up? I didn’t time it, but each turn is taking, I dunno, 30-90 secs each time, maybe more. And when you are eager to crack on, it gets frustrating. I don’t see any obvious bottlenecks, RAMs good, GPU is good, Disk is good, overall CPU is good, tops out at about 20%, but when checking the cores there is one core doing all the work. Im not sure what I can do to speed up performance. Maybe nothing ☹
Still a great game, bout time Paradox had some competition.

Pocus
Ageod
Ageod
Posts: 2654
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: Speed of turns

Post by Pocus » Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:07 pm

Yes, not much but hardware upgrade with a CPU with higher frequency, sorry!
AGEOD Team - Makers of Empires, ACW2, WON, EAW, PON, AJE, RUS, ROP, WIA.

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory: Empires - Tech Support”