Question to the Devs

Moderator: Pocus

Post Reply
Bercor
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:36 am

Question to the Devs

Post by Bercor » Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:38 pm

Is it possible to restrict the recruiting of certain provincial units to specific factions or is this hardcoded?
I’ve been trying lately to set this restriction by modifying the UNITS.CSV but until now I haven’t be able to do it, so I’m wondering if it is even possible.
Thanks in advance!

loki100
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Question to the Devs

Post by loki100 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:15 am

for this you will probably have to alter the Factions file as well, there are columns that set out the units each faction can recruit at the various civilisation levels

but the basic idea of the provincial units is that they are geographically limited, faction unlimited

Bercor
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:36 am

Re: Question to the Devs

Post by Bercor » Tue Aug 27, 2019 11:35 am

loki100 wrote:
Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:15 am
for this you will probably have to alter the Factions file as well, there are columns that set out the units each faction can recruit at the various civilisation levels

but the basic idea of the provincial units is that they are geographically limited, faction unlimited
Yeah, I know about the FACTIONS.CSV, but there are set only factions’ units they share with their ethnic group, not the provincial units.

My gripe with the provincial units system how it works right now is that leads to unit repetition to some factions (namely the ones that start in the provincial unit territory to begin with). Yes, I know the provincial units are slightly better than the factions units, but in the end they are just that: the same units with a slight buff - which I don’t find really compelling. Plus, I don’t really see why, other than from a gameplay perspective, the provincial elephant unit Carthage can recruit should be better than the faction’s own.

A possible solution to bypass this problem, now that I think of that, might be to completely remove the provincial units from the UNITS.CSV and create new units recruitable to every faction (except those that would lead to repetition) limited to their current provincial territory, but not provincial units per se (at least not what the game code understands as so).

Thanks for the answer anyway!

Post Reply

Return to “MOD”