ruthless romans crashing

PC, DS, Wii. Slitherine is pleased to announce that it has signed a worldwide licensing agreement to develop Horrible Histories™ games.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
parity
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:44 pm

ruthless romans crashing

Post by parity » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:00 pm

Hi,

I've installed the game, and it starts, but with every available game option (mini games etc) the program will crash, either just after clicking the green tick start button, or a 5-10 seconds into the game.

The error message provides no details, just "Horriblehistories.exe. has stopped working". we are running Vista, so I checked the event viewer:

Faulting application HorribleHistories.exe, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x4a117606, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x00000000, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x082444f6, process id 0x1628, application start time 0x01ca81adc86da8c5.

Fault bucket 1312940639, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: None
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: HorribleHistories.exe
P2: 0.0.0.0
P3: 4a117606
P4: StackHash_fd00
P5: 0.0.0.0
P6: 00000000
P7: c0000005
P8: 082444f6
P9:
P10:


The laptop spec is : Intel Pentium Dual CPU T2330 @ 1.60GHz, 2Gb, RAM, Mobile Intel 965 Express Graphics Chipset.

Any help would be appreciated, I have a six year old that's very keen to play this game!

Thanks

Jason

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13498
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Sun Dec 20, 2009 10:27 pm

Sorry you are having problems. Are you playing on a laptop? Have you tried to update your drivers?

parity
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:44 pm

Post by parity » Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:22 pm

Hi,

Yeah, as I said, it's a laptop. An Acer Aspire 5715Z. I did check for driver updates, but it's all up-to date.

Thanks

Jason

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13498
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:51 pm

Laptops are notoriously bad for games I'm afraid. The error does nto really tell us anything. What resolution is the screen?

parity
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:44 pm

Post by parity » Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:46 am

It's 1280x800. The mini-games that run at all before crashing seem to be running at a good framerate, no slowdown or anything like that. We also manage to play other 3D games on the laptop; trackmania, that sort of thing.

Any other diagnostics I can run?

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13498
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:22 am

You could try giving us a DirectX dialogue file. I'm not sure its going to help though :(

Post Reply

Return to “HORRIBLE HISTORIES™ Ruthless Romans”