BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Tech support for Battle Academy 2

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
freddiefly
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:13 am

BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by freddiefly »

Playing the Soviet side on the Kursk campaign. Scenario 6, with 13 turns remaining I get the following error BA: BA2.EXE FATAL APPLICATION ERROR. Causing the program to exit. I have run this scenario 2 times now and get a similar problem each time. See attached error code and DX-Diag.

regards
Richard Clark
Attachments
DxDiag.zip
dx-diag file
(18.19 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
error code displayed onscreen
error code displayed onscreen
BA2_error.jpg (34.92 KiB) Viewed 238 times
pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9690
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by pipfromslitherine »

Can you please post the contents of the error.log file (found in Documents/My Games/BA2) immediately after a crash happens.

I assume you are running the latest game version?

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here
freddiefly
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:13 am

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by freddiefly »

error log.

VER:10004
PLATFORM: WINDOWS
CPU String: GenuineIntel
Stepping ID = 5
Model = 5
Family = 6
Extended model = 10
CLFLUSH cache line size = 64
APIC Physical ID = 1
CPU Brand String: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-10600KF CPU @ 4.10GHz
Cache Size = 256K
UNKNOWN TAGS IN: CONFIG/SYSTEM.TXT
Unknown Tag: MOVIEMODE
Unknown Tag: DYNAMICENV
Unknown Tag: LAYOUTKILLSENEMYX,
END: CONFIG/SYSTEM.TXT
Found DirectX Version Number: 4.09.00.0904
Creating Device.....
MonkeyInitStart
MIS: Found DD
MIS: IsHW
MIS: SetCoop
MIS: Setting Disp Mode
MIS: Done Init 3D Device
MIS: Tex Enum
MIS: SDRS
MIS: Init Decal Render
TS: Start
TS: IAPSent
TS: UILoaded
INITIAL LOAD 1975
TS: BattleObj
TS: Managers
TS: BFBB
TS: LT
TS: InitDLUI
TS: Messages
TS: Ended
Playing as: 0
RQ:49,11,0
RD:49
RQ:13,0,0
RD:13
RQ:47,17,0
RQ:61,11,0
RD:47
RD:61
RQ:43,0,0
RD:43
RQ:43,0,0
RD:43
RQ:53,32,0
RD:53
RQ:53,42,0
RD:53
RQ:20,6,0
RQ:5,0,0
RQ:6,0,0
RQ:17,0,0
RQ:48,0,0
RQ:62,0,0
RD:20
RD:5
RD:6
RD:17
RD:48
RD:62
######## EXCEPTION: 0xC0000005 at address: 0x005351B8
SEARCHING: F:\Battle Academy 2;F:\Battle Academy 2;C:\WINDOWS
F:\Battle Academy 2;F:\Battle Academy 2;C:\WINDOWS
CBattleDisplay::CheckScript
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(2756) : +35 bytes (CBattleDisplay::CheckScript) 0
CBattleDisplay::InitUnit
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(2737) : +0 bytes (CBattleDisplay::InitUnit) 0
CBattleDisplay::PlaceUnit
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(24713) : +34 bytes (CBattleDisplay::PlaceUnit) 0
CBattleDisplay::DeployReinforcements
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(24580) : +98 bytes (CBattleDisplay::DeployReinforcements) 0
CBattleDisplay::TurnSetup
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(15216) : +0 bytes (CBattleDisplay::TurnSetup) 0
CBattleDisplay::DoInitialTurnLogic
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(15432) : +0 bytes (CBattleDisplay::DoInitialTurnLogic) 0
CBattleDisplay::StartTurn
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(15745) : +0 bytes (CBattleDisplay::StartTurn) 0
CBattleDisplay::UpdateLogic
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(12683) : +0 bytes (CBattleDisplay::UpdateLogic) 0
CBattleDisplay::Update
c:\dev\ba2\game\battledisplay.cpp(5424) : +0 bytes (CBattleDisplay::Update) 0
CUIManager::UpdateObjects
c:\dev\ba2\game\uimanager.cpp(1462) : +0 bytes (CUIManager::UpdateObjects) 0
CUIManager::Update
c:\dev\ba2\game\uimanager.cpp(2333) : +0 bytes (CUIManager::Update) 0
CGame::Update
c:\dev\ba2\game\game.cpp(874) : +0 bytes (CGame::Update) 0
CPlatform::MainLoop
c:\dev\ba2\game\platform_windows.cpp(859) : +11 bytes (CPlatform::MainLoop) 0
WinMain
c:\dev\ba2\game\platform_windows.cpp(515) : +11 bytes (WinMain) 0
__tmainCRTStartup
f:\dd\vctools\crt_bld\self_x86\crt\src\crtexe.c(578) : +29 bytes (__tmainCRTStartup) 0
BaseThreadInitThunk
RtlGetAppContainerNamedObjectPath
RtlGetAppContainerNamedObjectPath

Yes, I am running the latest version of the game.
Regards
Richard Clark
pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9690
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by pipfromslitherine »

That's very odd. My first suggestion would be to reinstall in case you have a corrupted script. Failing a solution there, can you please send me a copy of the savegame. It's clearly an isolated issue, but I would like to try and work out a workaround if nothing else.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here
freddiefly
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:13 am

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by freddiefly »

I am not having any problems with any other campaigns or scenarios, just this one. In fact i am playing through the bagration campaign again without problems right now. Here is the savegame file.

regards
Richard Clark
Attachments
36.zip
(164.48 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9690
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by pipfromslitherine »

I'm afraid I can't repeat your issue. It loads just fine for me, both in the current live (Steam) version, and also inside the debugger. It's also not an issue that we have seen before.

I would recommend installing again, as it could be a specific unit script that is causing problems, etc.

What version are you using (Steam, Slitherine, etc)?

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here
freddiefly
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:13 am

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by freddiefly »

OK Pip thanks, I have the Slitherine version of BA2. OK, after my current campaign I will reinstall.

Cheers
Richard
pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9690
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: BA2 Fatal Application Exit

Post by pipfromslitherine »

FYI a reinstall won't affect any saved games (they are all in Documents/My Games/BA2).

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here
Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”