GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by rkr1958 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:58 pm

I thought it'd be both fun and informative to start this quiz. Here are the rules: (1) The person, and only that person, who holds the initiative posts a question (any question) on GSv2.10 for which they definitely know the answer to. (2) The first person (other than the original poster) who correctly answers the question gets the initiative and then can post their own question. (3) If no one has correctly answered the question after 2-days (48-hours), the original poster can answer it himself and post another question (i.e., he retains the initiative).

I hope to use the thread as a place where all us of, new and experienced alike, can better learn about intricate details of GSv2.10 (both common and the more obscure ones).

I'll start. The situation is that the Germans have just captured Warsaw, so Poland will surrender at the end of the turn. A German infantry corps at 8-steps (see screen cap) was cut off from supply during the allied turn and supply was not been reestablished during the next axis turn. Will that corps lose a step (i.e., it's unsupplied at the end of the turn) or will supply be reestablished by the Polish surrender before this check is made?

Image

avoran
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: Veliki Novgorod

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by avoran » Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:04 pm

Great idea!

I have no idea what the answer is and since it's 50/50 I won't waste a post on a guess :)

joerock22
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 12:38 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by joerock22 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:52 pm

rkr1958 wrote:I'll start. The situation is that the Germans have just captured Warsaw, so Poland will surrender at the end of the turn. A German infantry corps at 8-steps (see screen cap) was cut off from supply during the allied turn and supply was not been reestablished during the next axis turn. Will that corps lose a step (i.e., it's unsupplied at the end of the turn) or will supply be reestablished by the Polish surrender before this check is made?
I don't believe the corps will lose a step; supply will be reestablished beforehand. I know the transfer of hexes from surrendered countries takes place immediately after the Axis player clicks the end turn button. The loss of steps from being out of supply must occur sometime after that???

rkr1958
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by rkr1958 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:02 pm

joerock22 wrote:
rkr1958 wrote:I'll start. The situation is that the Germans have just captured Warsaw, so Poland will surrender at the end of the turn. A German infantry corps at 8-steps (see screen cap) was cut off from supply during the allied turn and supply was not been reestablished during the next axis turn. Will that corps lose a step (i.e., it's unsupplied at the end of the turn) or will supply be reestablished by the Polish surrender before this check is made?
I don't believe the corps will lose a step; supply will be reestablished beforehand. I know the transfer of hexes from surrendered countries takes place immediately after the Axis player clicks the end turn button. The loss of steps from being out of supply must occur sometime after that???
That's correct! You now hold the initiative. It's your turn.

Image

joerock22
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 12:38 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by joerock22 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:17 pm

Okay, here's my question. It's a 4-part question about subs.

In each of these four situations, tell me specifically when a surfaced (visible) sub will become submerged (invisible to enemy) again:

a. Sub attacks during Axis turn
b. Sub moves during Axis turn but does not attack
c. Sub repairs at sea during Axis turn
d. Sub does nothing during Axis turn

Kragdob
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Poland

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by Kragdob » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:25 pm

joerock22 wrote:Okay, here's my question. It's a 4-part question about subs.

In each of these four situations, tell me specifically when a surfaced (visible) sub will become submerged (invisible to enemy) again:

a. Sub attacks during Axis turn
b. Sub moves during Axis turn but does not attack
c. Sub repairs at sea during Axis turn
d. Sub does nothing during Axis turn
b, c and d
Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few.

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by Schnurri » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:41 pm

Kragdob wrote:
joerock22 wrote:Okay, here's my question. It's a 4-part question about subs.

In each of these four situations, tell me specifically when a surfaced (visible) sub will become submerged (invisible to enemy) again:

a. Sub attacks during Axis turn
b. Sub moves during Axis turn but does not attack
c. Sub repairs at sea during Axis turn
d. Sub does nothing during Axis turn
b, c and d
I believe it is only b and c.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sun Apr 01, 2012 6:09 pm

I think it's b, c and d. It wasn't d some time ago, but it was reported as a bug that we fixed.

joerock22
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 12:38 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by joerock22 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 6:15 pm

It is b,c, and d. For a, the sub becomes invisible after the next Allied turn. For b and c, the sub becomes invisible immediately. And for d, it becomes invisible at the end of the Axis turn.

Kragdob got it first , so he's up next.

Kragdob
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Poland

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by Kragdob » Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:33 am

In 1940 UK send some troops to Tunis to make early invasion on Italy. On the same turn the troops unloaded (there is UK MECH in Tunis) Axis conquered Paris and accepted armistice causing All Western NA become Vichy. What happenes with UK MECH?
Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few.

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by richardsd » Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:01 pm

Kragdob wrote:In 1940 UK send some troops to Tunis to make early invasion on Italy. On the same turn the troops unloaded (there is UK MECH in Tunis) Axis conquered Paris and accepted armistice causing All Western NA become Vichy. What happenes with UK MECH?
in the old version it disappered due to a bug, now it appears in the UK build queue

Kragdob
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Poland

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by Kragdob » Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:19 pm

richardsd wrote:
Kragdob wrote:In 1940 UK send some troops to Tunis to make early invasion on Italy. On the same turn the troops unloaded (there is UK MECH in Tunis) Axis conquered Paris and accepted armistice causing All Western NA become Vichy. What happenes with UK MECH?
in the old version it disappered due to a bug, now it appears in the UK build queue
Correct. Initiative is yours.
Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few.

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by richardsd » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:18 am

here is a simple true or false

commanders can never be placed on a unit that has moved?

true of false

timrt
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:55 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by timrt » Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:18 pm

True

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by richardsd » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:39 am

time test

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by richardsd » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:43 am

timrt wrote:True
close enough to the time period

I assume you all think the answer is true so haven't bothered - never assume :twisted:

the answer is false - go on, how many of you are suprised?

so part 2.

when can a commander be placed on a moved unit?

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by richardsd » Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:45 am

well, when can it be done now before howls of 'bug' and its changed by Staffenburgs coding skills

zechi
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:42 pm

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by zechi » Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:28 am

A commander can be placed on a Para-unit which just did a jump, i.e. after its movement.

richardsd
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by richardsd » Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:40 am

zechi wrote:A commander can be placed on a Para-unit which just did a jump, i.e. after its movement.
correct, zechi has initiative

zechi
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:42 pm

Re: GSv2.10 Q&A Quiz Contest

Post by zechi » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:09 am

Here we go:

Which is the city or cities which generate the highest PP income in the game?

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”