Badcon Games 3&4

Forum for anyone to post reports of their battles and pictures, otherwise known as After Action Reports.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
list_lurker
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:51 am
Contact:

Badcon Games 3&4

Post by list_lurker » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:11 am

Image

AARs now on my blog.

thanks for looking
Simon

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8709
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by philqw78 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:39 am

The Spanish fragged and then broken in their own turn. The victorious Gauls rampaged onwards. Unluckily the Spaniards burst through some Numidian skirmishers. Who then with nowhere to run got caught by the charging Gauls. It was soon 2 BGs down.
Why couldn't the skirmishers evade?
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by Robert241167 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:49 am

That may be down to Spike and I.

We thought the rule about evading BG’s not being able to evade through BG’s who’d already evaded through them meant they stopped at the back of the BG that had evaded through them.

RBS in the last game played it as the second evader would still go through the first evader but the first evader would drop a cohesion level.

Sorry if we robbed you Simon.

This would be good for clarification for the future.

Rob

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8709
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by philqw78 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:03 pm

Robert241167 wrote:We thought the rule about evading BG’s not being able to evade through BG’s who’d already evaded through them meant
Because that isn't what it says. The rule is about interpenetrating someone who has just interpenetrated you.

In this case the skirmishers were 'burst through' by the routers, so could therefore interpenetrate them.

Still bad for the skirmishers as the routers will likely burst through them again in the JAP.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

mbsparta
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:57 pm

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by mbsparta » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:42 pm

Can you have that many Gaestati?

Mike B

zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by zoltan » Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:33 pm

Can you have commanders on round bases (even though they look much better than square!)? I remember Nuck slapping my wrist for commending round bases some time ago. :lol:

timmy1
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by timmy1 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:43 pm

As it disadvantages the player on round bases as they can never be in edge to edge / corner to corner contact I see it as being to Simon's disadvantage...

Delbruck
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 9:51 pm
Location: USA

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by Delbruck » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:09 pm

mbsparta wrote:Can you have that many Gaestati?

Mike B
Yes, you can have 24 bases.

But it does raise another question. I think the Gallic list can have only two allied commanders. To get a third you would have to exchange the hill tribes for Spanish. Very similiar, and for the same point total you exchange the BG of superior Cav for average LH, and the 4 base javelin BG for 8 bases of Caetrati. The MF remains the same.

To be honest I am not sure if these changes are quite legal. I don't have the book in front of me and I am not sure how many basic Gallic warriors are required.
Last edited by Delbruck on Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.

list_lurker
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:51 am
Contact:

Re: Badcon Games 3&4

Post by list_lurker » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:18 pm

ah yes... a quick look at the list at scribd and you are right... allied commander 0-2

i thought the Gaesati had its own subsection but it doesn't!

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory AAR's”