Unit issues 6.1.8

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Admiral_Horthy
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Admiral_Horthy » Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:59 pm

Geez I didn't notice that... I was testing towed arty till now...

Fixed it... here is what to change. Basically one character.

Open effectSequences.txt


search for the entries:

[AT_76.2mm_01]
0.0 ART_Shell_Light 0
0.0 AT_76mm_01 0
0.7 ShellCaseSmall 1
0.9 BarrelSmoke 0
1.0 hit
1.4 ART_Shell_Light 0
1.4 AT_76mm_01 0
2.3 ShellCaseSmall 1
2.5 BarrelSmoke 0
1.0 damage

[ART_76.2mm_01]
0.0 ART_Shell_Light 0
0.0 AT_76.2mm_01 0
0.7 BarrelSmoke 0
1.0 damage

Swap the two headers marked in red. Or put the letter R into AT and delete R from ART :lol: :lol:

You could change that in data.csv but way more to edit and you can make typo and the game won't load.

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2915
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by terminator » Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:42 pm

Admiral_Horthy wrote:
Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:59 pm
Swap the two headers marked in red. Or put the letter R into AT and delete R from ART :lol: :lol:

You could change that in data.csv but way more to edit and you can make typo and the game won't load.
It solves the problem of the SU version artillery : the tank fires now two knocks :D
But it does not solve the problem of the SU version antitank :(
The SU version antitank fires in a indirect way as artillery instead of firing in a direct way.

Here is the wrong way at which the SU version antitank fires :

SU(2).jpg
SU(2).jpg (63.42 KiB) Viewed 1109 times

Here is the right way at which the SU version antitank should fire :

SU(1).jpg
SU(1).jpg (62.21 KiB) Viewed 1109 times

Admiral_Horthy
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Admiral_Horthy » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:24 am

Ahhh sorry man, I forgot about the ART_Shell .... change it to AT_Shell. ART goes in angle and make whizz sound... AT goes straight and produces AT type impact (sparkles or small puffs). HE goes straight and produces HE impacts (big boom and crater).

This should be correct:


[ART_76.2mm_01]
0.0 ART_Shell_Light 0
0.0 AT_76mm_01 0
0.7 ShellCaseSmall 1
0.9 BarrelSmoke 0
1.0 hit
1.4 ART_Shell_Light 0
1.4 AT_76mm_01 0
2.3 ShellCaseSmall 1
2.5 BarrelSmoke 0
1.0 damage

[AT_76.2mm_01]
0.0 AT_Shell 0

0.0 AT_76.2mm_01 0
0.7 BarrelSmoke 0
1.0 damage

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2915
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by terminator » Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:08 am

Admiral_Horthy wrote:
Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:24 am
Ahhh sorry man, I forgot about the ART_Shell .... change it to AT_Shell. ART goes in angle and make whizz sound... AT goes straight and produces AT type impact (sparkles or small puffs). HE goes straight and produces HE impacts (big boom and crater).
Now, it works correctly, thank you :D

SU-AT(2).png
SU-AT(2).png (232.69 KiB) Viewed 1078 times

The file corrected for the SU-76:
effectSequences.zip
(6.6 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by GabeKnight » Sun Aug 26, 2018 4:12 pm

Thanks, Admiral, noted for my mod.

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by GabeKnight » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:38 pm

Units pictures missing:

- French Mortar Infantry (1322)
- Polish Mortar Infantry (1323)
- Yugoslavian Mortar Infantry (1326)
- Dutch Mortar Infantry (1079)

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by GabeKnight » Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:14 am

Asap wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:04 am
The Norwegian Feldkanon 75mm AT has an attack range of 4 hexes :shock:

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Horst » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:17 am

The AI cheats once again: please explain how this AI-German recon-unit in the middle could repair itself when cut-off from supplies!
My units, supply-immune or not, can’t do that.
The German vehicles there are at least two turns without supply connection. It almost looks like the AI has still access to the Jerry Can specialisation that was removed long time ago – but not, that was only a +2 land-command bonus. :)
Can't remember exactly anymore, but I think I've noticed such illegal behavior in the past too once or twice. The tank there couldn't repair, so it's possibly only bugging with supply-immune units.
Edit: I have trouble posting attachments somehow. The forum won't delete my old uploaded attachments. Whatever, you see in second and third picture how the strength is increased.
Attachments
NoSupply-Repair-2b.jpg
NoSupply-Repair-2b.jpg (392.75 KiB) Viewed 882 times
NoSupply-Repair-1a.jpg
NoSupply-Repair-1a.jpg (401.66 KiB) Viewed 883 times
NoSupply-Repair-2.jpg
NoSupply-Repair-2.jpg (392.75 KiB) Viewed 888 times

Asap
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:45 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Asap » Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:21 pm

I already brought that up about a year ago:
Soviet-Conscripts still have the Samurai-Infantry image.
Attachments
Samurai Infantry.jpg
Samurai Infantry.jpg (205.98 KiB) Viewed 877 times
"The sun is new each day" Heraclitus

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Horst » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:04 pm

Asap, the whole Soviet infantry models are copied from the Japanese, that's why too obvious similarities. I don't expect any extra work for a Soviet DLC but German paratroopers got a new color too since Sandstorm.

Asap
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:45 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Asap » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:12 pm

Horst wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:04 pm
Asap, the whole Soviet infantry models are copied from the Japanese, that's why too obvious similarities. I don't expect any extra work for a Soviet DLC but German paratroopers got a new color too since Sandstorm.
Luckily not every Japanese soldier carries a Samurai sword! :D
"The sun is new each day" Heraclitus

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by GabeKnight » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:38 pm

Horst wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:17 am
The AI cheats once again: please explain how this AI-German recon-unit in the middle could repair itself when cut-off from supplies!
My units, supply-immune or not, can’t do that.
Actually I think they can, if they are inside an area of your own hex ownership (even if not supplied). I get the game's logic behind this: the unit's inside your territory and doesn't need supply per definition, so why not allow repairs... :wink:
It's similar to the the mechanic that supply-immune stuctures like bunkers lose efficiency if they're unsupplied AND there's also another unit within the unsupplied area.
Both issues should be fixed!
Horst wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:17 am
Edit: I have trouble posting attachments somehow. The forum won't delete my old uploaded attachments.
Yeah, and I'm still quite pissed about that not being fixed. Happened with the new forum update and was reported already mid July here. :evil:

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Horst » Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:23 pm

@Gabe
Yes, i remember the weird structure behavior. That made me add the noSupply traits to them.
I can't replicate the recon-unit repair on a test map. Whatever, no supplies = no repair, is what someone expects.

Good to know I'm not (once again) the only one with troubles. I had attached with inline-option two pictures. When posted it only shows one while you get an error like: first attachment not valid anymore, or something like that.
When you edit your post again, only a single attachment is visible. If you delete it, nothing will be shown. If you delete it and upload a single attachment, suddenly the other two attachments are visibile too.
Slitherine and its weird issues. :mrgreen:

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by GabeKnight » Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:01 am

At least the mechanic really does work both ways. I may have even exploited this myself, not sure :oops:

Screenshot 704.jpg
Screenshot 704.jpg (692.21 KiB) Viewed 833 times

And the whole attachment thing works well if you don't use more than one per posting... :roll:

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Horst » Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:27 am

I’m slowly getting there with the rules again.
As long as units with capture-trait are in a territory, the own ground won’t be lost even without supply points.
The reason why I also noticed repairs on non-recon units was that most of my modified units have fuel-1 what allows them to still repair during their countdown – usually one extra turn, more with paratroopers for example.
Recon units have the noCapture-trait and can’t hold territories, usually loosing ground on the next turn if no allied capture-unit is in the same territory.
Alright, the only issue (maybe) is that repairing units in own territory without connected supply points looks strange.
The AI is still cheating by spying into the fog though! :evil:

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by GabeKnight » Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:28 am

Horst wrote:
Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:27 am
The reason why I also noticed repairs on non-recon units was that most of my modified units have fuel-1 what allows them to still repair during their countdown – usually one extra turn, more with paratroopers for example.
That was really a good idea. I've added the one extra turn to all tanks and that really plays well. It's just about enough to get back to own territory if your supply gets cut-off by some daring enemy unit.

Horst wrote:
Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:27 am
The AI is still cheating by spying into the fog though! :evil:
Yeah, I don't get it sometimes, too. Usually they have to obide by the LOS rules, but the AI seems to know things, that's for sure! But if it would always be true, they'd never run into ambushes, right? I guess that for the AI (trigger) orders with a distance setting to work, the AI has to know if your units cross that line - FOW or not ... :?:

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Horst » Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:18 pm

About the AI's x-ray vision: it's more apparent with aircraft than land units.
I’ve changed some interceptors, like the Beaufighter, to a night-fighter that is camouflaged, has a high air def, sight range 1, unique radar-range, and can only attack large aircraft.
While playing Erik’s Sea Lion campaign, I could observe one chasing my single large-bomber around the map. The moment I took-off from the hangar, the plane moved straight to my bomber again that was like 20 hexes away without help of allied spotters or revealed AI-fog AFAIK.
Maybe you can replicate this with the Japanese Ki-109 vanilla-plane which also can only attack large planes. It can also attack ground units, so it’s possible that it attacks hangars too what my NFs can’t.

Yeah, it's not 100% cheating, but see for youself with my land-unit Cheater-AI scenario.
I created that last year where you can observe the AI moving a single unit to the player flag, but only if you away from your own flag. I had to add a second AI unit as the AI tends to enjoys guarding own flags more now than in the past. The AI-Team is set to Local Defense 0.
Attachments
Cheater-AI.7z
(1.19 KiB) Downloaded 16 times

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6235
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Banzai Marines

Post by Erik2 » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:29 am

Selecting the Banzai Marine unit defaults to this.
Clicking on the 'Revert back...' does nothing.
banzai marines.jpg
banzai marines.jpg (135.38 KiB) Viewed 791 times

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2915
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Banzai Marines

Post by terminator » Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:54 am

Erik2 wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 8:29 am
Selecting the Banzai Marine unit defaults to this.
Clicking on the 'Revert back...' does nothing.
banzai marines.jpg
Not a bug, Banzai Marines should not be available in the Editor as Mortar Infantry.
Try japanese marines 37->45 with Specialisation "Banzai Charge", it works.

Aha. It has been a long time since a created the Okinawa scenario, but I think the Banzai Marines were available in the editor like any other unit.
Just checked; both Banzai Infantry and Banzai Marines are available as 'regular' units in the editor.
Last edited by terminator on Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1610
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Unit issues 6.1.8

Post by Horst » Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:02 am

Erik, if a banzai-unit has started a scenario in this switch-form than it can't revert back as the game has no clue what original unit it was. That's the disadvantage of the instantRevert switch-option. You need to be careful if you place such units in scenarios, like mortar infantry although this comes originally with a noEditor trait to prevent this dilemma.

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Tech Support”