Two Ranks Deep?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm

Two Ranks Deep?

Post by TERRYFROMSPOKANE » Fri May 15, 2020 12:28 am

My Later Visigoths have a 12 base BG deployed three ranks deep, made up of 4 defensive spears, 4 defensive spears and 4 light foot bows. In earlier action it has lost two of its spears so now has 4 spears, 2 spears + 2 bows and 2 bows in its three ranks. It charges an enemy BG of defensive spears. The rules say for spears to count two ranks deep there must be more than half as many in the second rank as in the first. My understanding from prior posts is that when charging the two light bows can not count as spears so no Impact +1 POA for me. However in the subsequent Melee Phase I do get the POA because these bows can count as a second rank fighting behind the front rank spears - although only one die for the two of them. Is that correct?

Thanks, Terry G.

berthier
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 732
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Re: Two Ranks Deep?

Post by berthier » Fri May 15, 2020 9:49 am

P. 92 Under Scoring Hits, 2nd column, 1st bullet answers your question Terry for impact. 1st column, same page and section, last bullet answers your question for melee POAs. The charts on pages 90 and 91 answer your questions for dice.
Christopher Anders
2020-2021 GCC Coordinator
http://bloodsandsteel.blogspot.com

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”