in the impact phase green HF charge and press forward to Yellow MF.

Can the active player feed the red base into A or B during the manoeuvre phase?
Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
IIRC the active player can expand its frontage by one file a base frontage on one side only (taken from page 72)zeitoun wrote:hi,
in the impact phase green HF charge and press forward to Yellow MF.
Can the active player feed the red base into A or B during the manoeuvre phase?
berthier wrote:I don't think red 2 would be eligible for the expansion as the green/red bases must stay in contact and red 2 forms the link between the two green groups of the BG. Red 1 would still be eligible to expand to face A or B though. Maybe an author can clarify if I am reading the diagram correctly.
"don't" = do not (at least here in the colonies)Si wrote
I assume you meant red 2 would NOT
I agree, though I believe the intent is the BG must remain a contiguous block.petedalby wrote:The conflicts with my understanding - p23 states that bases must remain in contact with each other?As far as I can see there is nothing to stop the unit breaking contact whilst in melee.
Pete
Sorry misred your post ... are you sure you didn'edit that back on"don't" = do not (at least here in the colonies)
Just to clear that one up, the one file with 2 bases and the other with 4 bases was not a voluntary move but was the result of casualties from 2 different battlegroups that caused more casualties to be removed from one colum instead of from all across the back of the pike block.But Red 1 can't expand on its own because that would then be an illegal formation (less bases in rear two ranks). Or is that allowed when in combat, as IIRC on another thread one of the authors said it was OK to have a pike BG with two bases in one file and 4 in the other.
Except I don't see how you classify feeding in more bases in as a "compulsory move" - though I would like it to allow an abnormal formation.shall wrote:Had a chat with Terry last night on these lest I was going mad...his view same as mine.
1) You can break normal formation as a result of combat effects. So 4-2 is allowed. And you can shuffle up or replace a base from the non-front rank bases. It is all to do with "compulsory move" which we did not define inthe glossary but had we done so it would be something you have to do under the rules. There are a few other situations where it can cause an "abmnormal formation". The primary issue with these is simply that they are "ok for now", but reform back to nromal formation as soon as they move again, or indeed earlier in any manouvre phase. So we play and interp this identically. Pretty simple really.
2) you can't break a BG up, which is why we force them to slide back into contact if a middle base is lost in combat.
And clearly can't move a base that is an overlap - which was a good spot by sadji.
Si