Uphill or not?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3832
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Uphill or not?

Post by dave_r »

A battle group of pike is directly in front of the light horse

Image

The cavalry declare a charge such that they end up like this:

Image

This counts as a frontal charge because the Cavalry did not begin behind the flank of the pikemen - but would the cavalry count as uphill? We assumed it would as they are uphill before they would conform.

Thoughts?
Evaluator of Supremacy
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8783
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by philqw78 »

How did you manage to contact like that as you can only wheel at the start of a charge
Other than that yes as your front edge is all uphill at contact
phil
putting the arg into argumentative
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3832
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by dave_r »

I decided I didn't fancy the charge in any case, so we didn't measure the charge 100% correctly for the photo - just put it something like it would be.

It was possible to be uphill, but probably not end up as the photo suggests.
Evaluator of Supremacy
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by petedalby »

I disagree.

P55 ..."is treated as a normal charge on the enemy front."

Since the enemy front is not on the hill I would say the chargers could not be on the hill either.
Pete
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3832
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by dave_r »

petedalby wrote: Thu Aug 11, 2022 1:50 pm I disagree.

P55 ..."is treated as a normal charge on the enemy front."

Since the enemy front is not on the hill I would say the chargers could not be on the hill either.
Well... That's the argument :) The charge is treated as a normal charge on the front so the pike would have the two plusses for three and four ranks of pike. But "is treated" is not the same as "positioned as".

I raised this so we could get a concensus. I also included on facebook and Mr Briggs said he thought it would be uphill.

As long as we all know where we stand we are fine (did you see what I did there :D ). I dread to ask Terry as a tie breaker.... He'll probably come up with another option....
Evaluator of Supremacy
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4202
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by terrys »

As long as we all know where we stand we are fine (did you see what I did there :D ). I dread to ask Terry as a tie breaker.... He'll probably come up with another option....
Sorry to disappoint you Dave, but I agree with Graham - the charging cavalry would count as being uphill during the charge.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by petedalby »

Good to know - thanks Terry
Pete
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3832
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: Uphill or not?

Post by dave_r »

terrys wrote: Fri Aug 12, 2022 9:53 am
As long as we all know where we stand we are fine (did you see what I did there :D ). I dread to ask Terry as a tie breaker.... He'll probably come up with another option....
Sorry to disappoint you Dave, but I agree with Graham - the charging cavalry would count as being uphill during the charge.
That's agreeing with me Terry. I also thought the cavalry would be uphill.

Nice to see you got something wrong :)
Evaluator of Supremacy
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”