Underpowered Units (with detailed suggestions)

In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war. Experience every bone-rattling explosion and soul-crushing charge in Warhammer 40,000: Battlesector, the definitve battle-scale game of turn-based strategy and fast-paced combat that takes you to the battlefields of the 41st Millenium.
AniGa
Private First Class - Opel Blitz

Underpowered Units (with detailed suggestions)

Post by AniGa »

Hi there.

First of all: Thank you so much for this game. It's pretty much exactly what I've been craving for so many years, and I am beyond excited to see it grow more and more.

In this vein, I felt I wanted to do my best to contribute; in this case, I looked over and tested the various units across all three factions (in a multiplayer / skirmish / Planetary Supremacy context, without Age of Crimson Dawn campaign unit upgrades in mind), and did my best to work out the ones that could possibly need some work.

And as I am not a friend of nerfs in game design, and seeing as the number of somewhat underpowered units is the far smaller amount to contend with, I want to focus on exactly those - units I would deem underpowered to any degree; I'll do my best to explain why I think that way, and add a suggestion.

Without further ado...

BLOOD ANGELS Sanguinary Guard
The unit itself is great, as is their default weapon. Wonderful close combat allrounders. But I never see much reason to spend the points for their weapon upgrades, as they don't provide enough of a hike in specialized damage for me to feel it's worth it.
Encarmine Axe: I think an extremely minimal increase to damage would do. And I do mean very, very minimal. That'd be enough to make me want to take these things for specialized heavy unit hunting Sanguinary Guard.
Plasma Pistol: I'd suggest either one more shot per model, or alternatively a small-scale upgrade to both damage and accuracy, that'd be enough.