Re-assigning keys

Moderators: rbodleyscott, Slitherine Core, Gothic Labs

Post Reply
Philippeatbay
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:19 pm

Re-assigning keys

Post by Philippeatbay » Sat Jul 30, 2016 1:38 pm

Someone on the Steam forum asked (in French) how one does this.

As I've never felt the need to do it I haven't a clue.

Can it be done?

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7935
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Re-assigning keys

Post by VPaulus » Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:18 am

Re-assign keys? I don't understand the question.
Why does he want to re-assign Steam keys?

jfmoyen
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:31 am

Re: Re-assigning keys

Post by jfmoyen » Sat Dec 03, 2016 10:36 am

Well, I bought the game yesterday and I think I perfectly understand the question -- he probably wants to reassign the hotkeys (keyboard keys), as they appear to be hard-coded. Now this is a problem for us because French keyboards use a different layout. Specifically on the left hand side we have
AZERTY
QSDF
WXC

instead of
QWERTY
ASDF
ZXC

In this case this is a royal pain in the ... because to scroll the view, you use the "regular" WASD, and the keys are loacted like that on an English keyboard:
.W.
ASD

which is fine.

For us however they are located here:
A..
.SD
W..

so it's totally hard to remember how to scroll :-)
Imagine playing in an English keyboard with
.Z.
QSD

Of course a workaround is to change the keyboard layour while you play, but you have to change it back then, and this is a royal pain if you alt-tab out of the game to do something else....

JF

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”