Second Moves and Shooting Distance

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Second Moves and Shooting Distance

Post by kal5056 »

Can a unit that has moved twice and been forced to stop at exactly 6 MU's (because the rule says that you can not move within 6MU's) claim a long range shot of 6MU's? DBx used to deal with this by saying that if you had marched you could not shoot. I can find no similar limitation. The hair that need splitting is "If a unit is forced to stop because it can not move within 6MU is it considered to be at 6MU's? " Sorry if this has been asked before.
Gino
SMAC
KingHassan
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:40 pm

Post by KingHassan »

Hello Gino.
We have been playing it as " can't go within 6MUs" means that marching units must stop just beyond 6MUs and are out long range.

John
madmike111
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:20 am
Location: West Aussieland

Post by madmike111 »

I think you are both wrong. From my understanding the unit has to start its second move outside 6 MU, it can then move as close as it likes in the second move, subject to its normal move range.
MarkSieber
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:23 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon US

Post by MarkSieber »

p. 75: "Neither the 1st nor the 2nd move can start, end or go within 6 MUs of any enemy..." Range p. 85 "...in range if a front corner or any part of its front edge is within range of the target." We play that since you can't second move within 6 MUs and must be within 6 MU's (for foot bow) to shoot, no shooting after a second move.
Duke68
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:44 am

Post by Duke68 »

madmike111 wrote:I think you are both wrong. From my understanding the unit has to start its second move outside 6 MU, it can then move as close as it likes in the second move, subject to its normal move range.
No, iirc a second move is allowed only if it doesn't start, pass through or end within 6" from any enemy BG.
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

In the glossary on P136 it clearly defies within to mean "At or closer than".

As you cannot make a second move within 6MU and within includes at 6MU you cannot make a second move to shooting range.
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Correct. This was certainly the intent of ther 3 of us and I think it is clear in the rules if you refer to the relevant bits as james suggests so not an FQ issue.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

It is quite clear. More of hazy holdover from other rules.

This does mean that HF that double march cannot be at exactly 6 MU and thus will take 3 turns to move.
Which effects firepower a good bit
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28258
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

hazelbark wrote:It is quite clear. More of hazy holdover from other rules.

This does mean that HF that double march cannot be at exactly 6 MU and thus will take 3 turns to move.
Indeed it does.
Which effects firepower a good bit
But you could screen them with LF.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”