Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Names)

Post Reply
Paul59
Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind
Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind
Posts: 1780
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Names)

Post by Paul59 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 9:52 pm

Normally when units are placed on the map, they carry the standard unit name for that unit type, ie; Pike Phalanx, Light Javelinmen, Superior Warband (Close Order) and so on.
However, the editor allows us to assign custom unit names to the units on the map. This can add a little bit of flavor to the scenario. You don’t have to do this, you can just leave the standard unit names if you wish.

First, make sure that you are in the “Unit Placement Mode” (see Part 2 of these guides) and click on the “Custom Unit Names” button:

Image

The “Custom Named Units” subscreen appears.

When you first open the subscreen the two top fields will be blank, but in the screen here I have already been entering some new names as you can see.

In the Name field, type in the new name that you want to apply to a unit (or units), in this screenshot I have typed in “Aetolian Thureophoroi”;

Image

Then click on the “Add New Unit Name” button, this adds the new unit name to the available list in the field above:

Image

Then, click on the name in the list, and it will be highlighted by a grey background;

Image

Now click on the unit on the map that you want to rename:

Image

In this instance, I have clicked on the Thureophoroi unit in map reference 26,53.

Then, click on the “Assign Name” button:

Image

As you can now see when I mouse over the unit, the new unit name has been applied. It also appears in the top field of the “Custom Named Units” subscreen, alongside it’s standard name and its map reference.

Image

Just carry on naming units, and when you have finished click on the “Close” button to remove the “Custom Named Units” subscreen.

If you make a mistake, just highlight the unit name that you want to remove in the top field and click on the “Remove Custom Name” button. Alternatively, all the custom unit names are saved to the Text9.txt file in the scenario folder, so you can open that and directly edit any name that is in there.

So, that’s how to change unit names through the editor. You can also change the unit names by modding the scenario Text1.txt file, but I will show you how to do that in a later instalment!
Last edited by Paul59 on Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22068
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Na

Post by rbodleyscott » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:11 am

Thanks Paul.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

Hoplite1963
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:32 pm

Re: Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Na

Post by Hoplite1963 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:13 pm

Hi Paul
Thanks very much for this. If you make mistakes on creating your list of custom unit names such as typeo’s duplicate entries blank lines etc, is there any way of correcting them ? Also is there any way of importing a existing list made for an earlier scenario into another one ?

Many thanks
Ian
Last edited by Hoplite1963 on Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22068
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Na

Post by rbodleyscott » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:11 pm

Hoplite1963 wrote:Hi Richard
Thanks very much for this.
Thank Paul, not me.
If you make mistakes on creating your list of custom unit names such as typeo’s duplicate entries blank lines etc, is there any way of correcting them ?
You can't actually correct them in the editor but you can either delete them in the editor and type them in again, or correct them in the text9.txt file that the editor writes them to.
Also is there any way of importing a existing list made for an earlier scenario into another one ?
I guess copy them from that scenario's text9.txt file, and change the index numbers if there are any duplicates.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

Hoplite1963
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:32 pm

Re: Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Na

Post by Hoplite1963 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:29 pm

Thanks Richard. Deleting the file the incorrect names are in and starting again seems to work quite well here.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22068
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Scenario creation guide part 5 (Assigning Custom Unit Na

Post by rbodleyscott » Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:36 pm

Hoplite1963 wrote:Thanks Richard. Deleting the file the incorrect names are in and starting again seems to work quite well here.
No need to do that. Just edit the incorrect strings in the file. (Use Notepad, or better, Notepad++)
Richard Bodley Scott

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II: Scenario Design”