Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Forum for discussion of the next iteration of the BA engine. This time with a all new open development approach!

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
morge4
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2107
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:56 pm
Location: Penalty Box
Contact:

Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by morge4 » Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:13 pm

Am playing a user created MP game, Streets of Stalingrad, after I updated to 1.0.4 and installed Kursk, am seeing some STRANGE issues... :?

My Guards infantry are now StuG 42's :shock:
Image

And other units have changed to Churchills and Soviet Leaders to 85mm AA guns
Image

I read a post on a scenario that petcat created that units changed, I assume they did due to the patch and Kursk install. I hope it does not affect all the user created scenario's, they put a lot of hard work into creating them.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:49 pm

It looks like some user scenarios overlap with string entries for the new content. These should be easy fixes, but it's definitely confusing.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by enric » Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:16 am

Until now, I did not catch what's happening.
If I try any of my scenarios as solo player they works as usual
If I open new challenge and I accept myself, they work as usual.
So, agains similar OS seems to work.

The issue seems to happen only with the MP running scenarios when 1.0.4 update is applied.

The ID for Guards, Leader, and any special used units are on the 700's, the new units Elefant, Brummbar, etc are in the 400s, so no collision should be happened,

The main difference in the new Squads.csv is that each squad has added ", ," at the end (two new blank fields).
For example the second line, with the field names finishes like
,Startdate,Endate,SkirmishInfo,,
the third line soviet_rifle ends like:
100,Jun/30,0,5,,

the last Squads.csv from 1.0.1 finished like
,Startdate,Endate,SkirmishInfo

I will open new challenges to see if paying again others (iPad or PC) the issue persists or, was only with the scenarios started with the 1.0.1.

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by enric » Fri Apr 03, 2015 1:47 pm

Maybe its by coincidence, but the issue happened with players who were in the EA, so they have different textures for some units.

iswain
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:15 pm

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by iswain » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:15 pm

I too am getting these issues with BA2 after update. Random strange units appearing on battlefield. Any updates on a fix?

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by enric » Mon Apr 06, 2015 2:23 pm

iswain wrote:I too am getting these issues with BA2 after update. Random strange units appearing on battlefield. Any updates on a fix?
I think no need updates, only start the scenario again.
I believe it was an issue only in the MP games started with the old version of BA2 that used and additional SQUAD.CSV file.

tmoj2000
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:40 pm

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by tmoj2000 » Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:26 am

I have this problem with the additional scenarios in MP as well

Channels does not load

Hill 621: leaders turn into Elephants or 85 mm guns.....

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by enric » Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:46 am

tmoj2000 wrote:I have this problem with the additional scenarios in MP as well

Channels does not load

Hill 621: leaders turn into Elephants or 85 mm guns.....
MP games started with the old version of BA2, that used and additional SQUAD.CSV file, must be cancelled and started again with BA 1.0.4.

tmoj2000
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:40 pm

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by tmoj2000 » Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:17 am

By cancelled you mean that we lose the game and start a whole new one from turn 1 ?

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by enric » Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:41 am

tmoj2000 wrote:By cancelled you mean that we lose the game and start a whole new one from turn 1 ?
Yes. Maybe someone in SLitherine should have said something officially.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:50 pm

I'm not sure how that can be causing issues in truth, but I will try and dig down into it.

If restarting the games is a workaround then at least that is something.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1855
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Issues with MP game after update and Kursk install

Post by enric » Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:49 pm

Yes, restarting the games has worked in all scenarios.
The fact that only MP user made scenarios suffered from this issue, make me believe that it has a relationship with the fact that, usually, user made scenarios have a SQUADS.CSV file to add some specific units, and the units that suffered the mutation where the units added in this SQUADS.CSV file.

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy 2 – Eastern Front”