Adding units to force pool during scenario

A forum to discuss custom scenarios, campaigns and modding in general.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Design, Panzer Corps Moderators

Post Reply
zjorz
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:09 am

Adding units to force pool during scenario

Post by zjorz » Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:37 pm

Hello,

Im currently working on a map project. I would like to add a unit to the force pool during a scenario.

The result im looking for is this: zone 1 is cleared of axis units > allied get a unit that they can deploy at any city they control (they same as when they purchase units)

Im not sure how to do this in the scenario editor. Hope anybody can explain how to do so :)

nikivdd
Panzer Corps Map Designer
Panzer Corps Map Designer
Posts: 4140
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:21 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Adding units to force pool during scenario

Post by nikivdd » Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:52 pm

This is not possible.
Either you add 1 core slot, so the Allied side can buy an extra unit.
Or you script a unit to appear for the Allied side on a particular hex on this map.
Or you create two maps for the scenario that follows this one. One that doesn't have the Allied unit (zone 1 was not cleared) and on that does have the Allied unit (pre-placed by time trigger) (zone 1 was cleared)
https://www.facebook.com/NikivddPanzerCorps/
https://www.youtube.com/user/Nikivdd1/videos?shelf_id=0&view=0&sort=dd

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Adding units to force pool during scenario

Post by bebro » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:15 pm

Here's an idea, but I can't guarantee it works. In general, it's as Nico said. But IIRC core units scripted to appear at some hex in the scn (like captured) go into the reserve pool when the hex they're supposed to show up on is occupied? If that is correct, one could maybe take advantage of this.

My idea would go like this:
- script the unit A you want to appear in the pool at turn X on hex Y.
- then you need to assure hex Y is occupied when unit A is supposed to appear
- create the scn so that you can move another unit to hex Y before unit A is coming, and see if said unit A arrives in your force pool at the turn it is scripted to show up then (as said, I'm not fully sure this works, but maybe you want to try it)

BiteNibbleChomp
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3227
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:35 am

Re: Adding units to force pool during scenario

Post by BiteNibbleChomp » Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:42 pm

bebro wrote:Here's an idea, but I can't guarantee it works. In general, it's as Nico said. But IIRC core units scripted to appear at some hex in the scn (like captured) go into the reserve pool when the hex they're supposed to show up on is occupied? If that is correct, one could maybe take advantage of this.

My idea would go like this:
- script the unit A you want to appear in the pool at turn X on hex Y.
- then you need to assure hex Y is occupied when unit A is supposed to appear
- create the scn so that you can move another unit to hex Y before unit A is coming, and see if said unit A arrives in your force pool at the turn it is scripted to show up then (as said, I'm not fully sure this works, but maybe you want to try it)
Such an idea doesn't actually exist - if the hex is occupied you don't get the unit (or that is my experience anyway).

I would be able to give a detailed way to do it to some extent, but it is quite complicated. You interested?

- BNC
Creator of American Civil War mod for Strategic Command WWI!
Discuss here: http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4504986
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/tj4t11z3ttl142w/SCACW.zip/file

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Adding units to force pool during scenario

Post by bebro » Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:45 pm

The idea exists in the way I described it. Whether it works that way or not is another matter.

If you have a better solution I'm sure the OP will be curious to learn about it.

ThvN
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:55 pm

Re: Adding units to force pool during scenario

Post by ThvN » Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:09 pm

I'm no scenario modder, so my knowledge is far less than bebro and nikivdd (BTW guys, a long overdue congratulations on your promotions!), but I think the problem is that the core slots must allow the deployment of another unit, and if they are already full than you cannot deploy a unit. So the first problem is the lack of opportunity of actually placing a unit from reserves directly on the map. But here are some thoughts/ideas:

There is a 'param action' in de editor that seems to allow a scripted adjustment of the no. of core slots. So that might be used to trigger +1 core slot with a trigger, but I've never tested this.

If the core slots can't be adjusted, what if the awarded unit is a 'SE' or bonus unit? It should be able to be deployed regardless of core slots available, or not?

I'm not sure of all the ways possible to get a unit in the reserves while playing, but you can add evacuation hexes on the map, like the hexes used during Syraxuse in GC West '42-'43. Any unit that enters such a hex is immediately transferred to reserves. So, what if you script a unit to appear on a hex that is also an evacuation hex? It could be made inaccesible for other units, to be sure.

Would any of this work?

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps : Scenario Design”