Search found 703 matches

by rogerg
Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:17 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Pursing and steeping forward
Replies: 3
Views: 250

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

I don't have the rules to hand, but I think the answer is that they do step forward after making a new contact. If they contact the fleeing BG first they would not step forward.
by rogerg
Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:41 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: battle lines
Replies: 21
Views: 916

Re: battle lines

One of those situations where finding precise wording is not so easy. The intent that all the bases move together is obvious to those who have played a lot together and used previous rule sets. If we were starting writing rules from scratch, with no previous gaming experience, it would be necessary ...
by rogerg
Thu May 31, 2012 7:22 pm
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Northern Doubles - Round Two - Runners and Riders
Replies: 12
Views: 732

Re: Northern Doubles - Round Two - Runners and Riders

Sorry to hear that. I'm sure we can all wait.
by rogerg
Thu May 31, 2012 5:42 pm
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Northern Doubles - Round Two - Runners and Riders
Replies: 12
Views: 732

Re: Northern Doubles - Round Two - Runners and Riders

Post some results please.
by rogerg
Thu May 10, 2012 1:58 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unable to conform
Replies: 19
Views: 854

Re: Unable to conform

Just for you then Dave: "Don't leave gaps of less than a base width if you want to feed into the spaces later."
by rogerg
Thu May 10, 2012 12:29 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unable to conform
Replies: 19
Views: 854

Re: Unable to conform

I concede, 'eligible' does not mean that they will eventually fight. Solution one then, don't leave gaps between your BG's.
by rogerg
Thu May 10, 2012 12:00 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unable to conform
Replies: 19
Views: 854

Re: Unable to conform

I believe the wheeling rule is 'fewer bases fighting at impact'. If 'B' wheels right in its charge to put 1 base corner against each opposing BG, leaving a sufficient gap for A to expand that should be OK.
by rogerg
Thu May 10, 2012 11:34 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unable to conform
Replies: 19
Views: 854

Re: Unable to conform

All that is needed here is to be aware of the rules and play accordingly. If your BG's had been a base width apart when charging, rather than slightly less, there would not have been a problem. Alternatively, an angled charge to increase the gap would have worked. I would not advocate adding rules t...
by rogerg
Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:21 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Who can fight?
Replies: 69
Views: 2188

I really have to say, I am very pleased to live in the UK and play Mr Ruddock and Mr Amey regularly at competitions. They are on my list of opponents that I know I will get an absolutely fair game from and there will be no possibility of any acrimonious dispute. I also enjoy their contributions on h...
by rogerg
Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:43 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Christmas Quiz
Replies: 24
Views: 1048

No rule book with me, but I like a quiz. Solid red gets 1 dice initially, checked gets 1 vs the medium foot, (halving for LF) = 2 dice Fragemented halves that, so 2 ends up as 1 dice. As far as I am aware, you can pick which base gets the dice, so I would suggest going for the solid red at + for arm...
by rogerg
Sun Dec 04, 2011 3:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: "Direction of Charge" Definition
Replies: 6
Views: 540

I'm not aware it is defined any more clearly. The current playing practice is the direction the charge is moving after any wheel. In other words, the direction that the bases are moving at contact.
by rogerg
Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:30 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Intercept Charges
Replies: 30
Views: 1300

I'll throw in my opinion too Bob. A BG that is the target of a charge cannot intercept. The fact that the chargers don't eventually reach that BG doesn't imply that it is not a target, rather it is a missed target. Even missed targets cannot intercept.
by rogerg
Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:37 pm
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Announcement; Bayfog yorkshire 22/23october confirmed
Replies: 31
Views: 1879

Thanks Paul, another excellent weekend. If anything, better than last year.

Roger
by rogerg
Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:54 am
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Announcement; Bayfog yorkshire 22/23october confirmed
Replies: 31
Views: 1879

Shoot the spies then Robert. My list was not illegal, just inadequate. This has been corrected by a few small additions.
by rogerg
Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:29 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Break off when hit by pursuer this turn
Replies: 1
Views: 221

That looks correct to me. I supose you would rationalise it by saying that in reality movement is not alternate. The break off would then be happening before the pursuers arrive.
by rogerg
Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:27 pm
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Announcement - Derby Teams 2011 FOG
Replies: 142
Views: 7331

I am playing under Robert's name. If I lose, people will say 'Robert lost' and think it is Mr Taylor and not me.
by rogerg
Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:48 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Charge Question
Replies: 22
Views: 1068

We have always read it that because no test was taken, the MF bow cannot charge into the HF, so will stop short after driving off the skirmishers. We rarely see this situation. The HF are likely to charge if the MF bow stop 1MU away. In practice players normally opt to have the bow stand and shoot r...
by rogerg
Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:32 am
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: 4th Round NDL (ex-NDBML)
Replies: 7
Views: 588

I hope we are still within the limit of the table numbers. I can't remember how many we can fit in. However, it is certainly a case of 'no more than last year'.

Roger
by rogerg
Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:20 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Being burst through by light foot
Replies: 10
Views: 537

Light troops can pass through everything (I think, without looking it up) see the interpenetration section.

Legitimate interpenetration is not a burst through. The rules on bursting through are about non-legal interpenetrations. I.e no burst thorough, no cohesion drop.
by rogerg
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:50 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Conforming question
Replies: 29
Views: 1151

The conforming depends on the bow base fighting the knight base. If it is mostly in front of the knight that contacted it, then it isn't going to move to be an overlap. Conforming is about which base lines up. It is not about the BG lining up.

Go to advanced search